New PC Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2006, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default New PC Build

I have just sold my older PC kit, Intel 3.2Ghz Northwood, X800XT PE AGP graphics, etc. and am about to buy new PC components for my new PC build.

I was thinking of a Conroe Dual Core 2 CPU and have the following questions:-

1. Will my existing 1 GB (2 x 512MB) OCZ DDR PC4000 (500 MHZ RAM) be OK in the syetm or do i need DDR2? If not I will sell em now.....

2. Will my Tagan TG480-UO1480W PSU be OK for SLI operation? Will it have enough power? 28A on rails.......

3. Can I use the Intel Conroe in a Geoforce 7900 SLI setup? Have seen reports that only crossfire motherboards are available for Conroe CPU's.......

4. If i need new RAM, can anyone tell me what 2GB RAM is the best to go for, bearing in mind value for money?

5. Which MOBO is best? Bearing in mind I wanna go SLI with 7900's?

6. How can i future proof my video card investment for DX10?

Regards

Paul
__________________

paullewis323 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: New PC Build

Quote:
Originally posted by paullewis323
I have just sold my older PC kit, Intel 3.2Ghz Northwood, X800XT PE AGP graphics, etc. and am about to buy new PC components for my new PC build.

I was thinking of a Conroe Dual Core 2 CPU and have the following questions:-

1. Will my existing 1 GB (2 x 512MB) OCZ DDR PC4000 (500 MHZ RAM) be OK in the syetm or do i need DDR2? If not I will sell em now.....

2. Will my Tagan TG480-UO1480W PSU be OK for SLI operation? Will it have enough power? 28A on rails.......

3. Can I use the Intel Conroe in a Geoforce 7900 SLI setup? Have seen reports that only crossfire motherboards are available for Conroe CPU's.......

4. If i need new RAM, can anyone tell me what 2GB RAM is the best to go for, bearing in mind value for money?

5. Which MOBO is best? Bearing in mind I wanna go SLI with 7900's?

6. How can i future proof my video card investment for DX10?

Regards

Paul
1) The ram is not compatible because it uses DDR, but the Intel is DDR2
2) if 28 Amps is both rails, then i doubt it will be powerful enough for one of the higher models for SLi, like the 7900GT/GTX, but i wouldnt risk it, just get an Antec TruePowerII 550Watt
3)no, that is not true, you can use any CPU with any GPU setup. that would be really dumb on all 4 sides of CPU/GPU Manufacturers
4)best would be 2GB dual channel of any of these brands: Crucial, Corsair, G.Skill, OCZ, Mushkin, Patriot
5)Im not very familiar with Intel compatible mobos, sry, will have to do some research
6) you can future proof it by buying 1 7900GT, or x1800xt, now and saving for a G80 nvidia card or the new DX10 ATI cards (R600 or something)
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Re: Re: New PC Build

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
6) you can future proof it by buying 1 7900GT, or x1800xt, now and saving for a G80 nvidia card or the new DX10 ATI cards (R600 or something)
I wish that was true. **** every advancing technology!
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

well if u buy a 7900GT and x1800 xt now, and then a DX10 card when they are released, you will be future proofed for like a year or 2 because i doubt dx11 will come out as fast as new video cards and stuff come out, those are like every 3 or months, this takes years.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I cant really imagine graphics wise, SOME GAMES, getting really that much better but in a couple years I will look back and say that stuff sucked ***. Lol. Yeah just get a 7900gt. Very cheap now!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default Re: Re: Re: New PC Build

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
I wish that was true. **** every advancing technology!
Yeah, that is true. That's why it's rediculous trying to create a "cutting-edge" system nowadays. You can drop $5000 on an uBeR system from Alienware and it would utter ****e in a year or two...
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

or u can get the equivalent for $2000 on newegg, and not be ask disappointed.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default Re: Re: New PC Build

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
3)no, that is not true, you can use any CPU with any GPU setup. that would be really dumb on all 4 sides of CPU/GPU Manufacturers

Eh I read That intel wont allow SLI with conroe......

http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=32667



Not sure if its legit but its what I read.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yes the inquirer......definitely a reliable source........that would seem really dumb, i mean, intel and nvidia are basically hombres now, after the whole Renegade thing with Dell.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
intel and nvidia are basically hombres now
Sorta.

Intel and ATI are the bedfellows of late, but nVidia is working on their own to get SLI for Conroe.

EDIT: Besides, "hombres" means "men"... not a mental picture I wanted...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.