New pc assistance appreciated (noob here : P )

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clingy

Beta member
Hi Guys, My current machine below

Motherboard - Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP Intel P35 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Power supply - Enermax Liberty 620W ELT620AWT ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU
Ram - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 PC2-8500C5 1066MHz Dual Channel (OCZ2RPR10664GK)
Processor - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 LGA775 "Yorkfield" 2.50GHz 6MB-cache (1333FSB) Processor - Retail
Grahics card
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC - Graphics adapter - Quadro NVS 280 - PCI Express 2.0 x16 - 1 GB GDDR3 - DVI, HDMI ( HDCP ) - HDTV out - retail

I am looking to upgrade my machine. I have recently applied for a loan to do some home improvements and there is a little cash spare (APR is bad and I am getting screwed but what can you do lol)My Graphics card is dying(takes 25 times of turning my pc on and off to get it to work) and rather than just getting a new one I was thinking about upgrading everything. This machine still struggles to run Crysis on high settings and maintain 30FPS. With BF3 and RAGE coming out I was considering upgrading for the future. I have the following concerns and wanted some advice please.

1. The Best place to buy cheap reliable parts on the interwebs? I usually buy from Overclockers.co.uk.
2. Any changes to the hardware market I should be aware of. Every time I upgrade someone usually says...oh dear, you should of waited 2 months - this card is coming out or DDR3 ram was on the horizon. I am quite unlucky at buying for the wrong time
3. What I am looking to build is a high end gaming rig for around £2000 budget. What I would like that to include is a SS HD min 120GB and also Either a top of the range graphics card or 2 **** good ones in SLI. I was looking at the Radeon HD 6990 cards but I think the 7 series might be out later this year and might be a better buy?