new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default new pc

I'm building a gaming/multimedia pc.
case: raidmax samuri 908
mobo: Abit KN8 SLI socket 939 nvidia nforce 4 SLI ATX AMD
cpu: AMD Athlon 64X2 4400+Toledo
memory: gigaram mach1000 series 1GB 184 pinn PC3200(at least 2GB total, maybe up to 4...)
HD: W.Digital Caviar SE16 250 GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0GB/S
Video card: GeForce 7800GTX
sound: Soundblaster X-Fi
Koolance Aquian ICM-505 Light All-in-one liquid cool

i will be using my current CD and DVD drives(dual layer)
all opinions and suggestions welcome.
__________________

stishdr is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Post links please, it would make checking out the system your planning a lot easier to check out.
__________________

Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Just 1 thing, don't get 4 gigs of ram. That's a bit of an overkill
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ya 2 Gigs in dual channel is good,
what kind of Power supply are you getting.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Gigaram is some cheap RAM, doesn't OC well, and seems to die fairly quick. There is alot of better alternatives out there.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231012

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146883

and also what kind of psu are you getting? hopefully you don't plan on using the one that comes with the case. To push the GTX and that X2 you will need a fairly good psu.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104154

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817101206
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

yea, ill definetly go with the different ram and different psu, a 450 or 500 watt psu, but do other things look good?
stishdr is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 07:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: new pc

Quote:
Originally posted by stishdr
I'm building a gaming/multimedia pc.
case: raidmax samuri 908
mobo: Abit KN8 SLI socket 939 nvidia nforce 4 SLI ATX AMD
cpu: AMD Athlon 64X2 4400+Toledo
memory: gigaram mach1000 series 1GB 184 pinn PC3200(at least 2GB total, maybe up to 4...)
HD: W.Digital Caviar SE16 250 GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0GB/S
Video card: GeForce 7800GTX
sound: Soundblaster X-Fi
Koolance Aquian ICM-505 Light All-in-one liquid cool

i will be using my current CD and DVD drives(dual layer)
all opinions and suggestions welcome.
1 i would switch over to a DFI nF4 SLi-DR
2 switch the ram yes
3. get 2GB cause windows doesnt like 4GBs
4 tell us what company video card your getting, get eVGA< leadtek, gigabyte, DONT GET XFX!!!!
5. tell my the final price
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 08:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Dont waste your money on X-Fiu unless you are getting a high quality 5.1 or 7.1 system. The onboard sound will work great for standard stero speakers.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

well, i do own a pair of logitech z-560 4.1's, and i will most likely end up buying their z-5500's, but i will stick with the integrated and see how that is, thanks for the advice.
stishdr is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

the DFI on newegg doesn't say it supports the cpu i have piced out, its an X2, so i would if it was compatable, and ill get back soon with a final price for everyone.
__________________

stishdr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.