New PC! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2008, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Question New PC!

So i will be buying a new pc and i notice that the board i chose supports crossfire which is this MSI Computer Corp. - Product but i will be buying an nvidia card, is there a problem with that?
__________________

__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New PC!

A single Nvidia card will work fine on that motherboard.

Even though that motherboards specs say it supports crossfire I'm not sure how since it only has 1 PCI Express x16 slot.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: New PC!

Yes you can have a mismatch in crossfire board and nvidia vid card, however you can only use 1 card. Meaning you can't do sli or crossfire.
brinks is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default Re: New PC!

oh i see... i am more relieved now... thanks dudes this forum is a great help to newbies like me haha! =)

thanks for the extremely quick response!
__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.