new parts for gaming pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2006, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Talking new parts for gaming pc

what do you guys think of these parts for my new setup....everything else i have....

new pc parts....


AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 Windsor 2.8GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Dual Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103861


GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128014


GIGABYTE GV-NX88S640H-RH GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125050


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

OCZ / GameXStream / 700-Watt / ATX / 120mm Fan / SATA Ready / SLI Ready / EPS / Active PFC / Power Supplyhttp://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2235424&CatId=2036


Fair and honest opinions please..... : )
__________________

__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

dude, u would probly be better served by going mid-high range conroe (E6600 = $309) and using the cheddar u saved on the cpu (300+) on the 8800GTX and ddr2 1000 ram ... for the same money u get 2x the power, and thats the name of the game. i loath intel as much as the next guy but benchmarks lie not.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Default lol

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
dude, u would probly be better served by going mid-high range conroe (E6600 = $309) and using the cheddar u saved on the cpu (300+) on the 8800GTX and ddr2 1000 ram ... for the same money u get 2x the power, and thats the name of the game. i loath intel as much as the next guy but benchmarks lie not.
thnx for the reply...but yea my hatred for intel goes deep into my veins...haha. and i checked out the benchmarks already. I would go there...but to me its not that bigggg of a difference. the fx-62 came very close behind. and honestly i would so much rather say i have an AMD cpu compared to anything INTEL....urrr....haa..but i hear ya tho!!! : ) but i am thinking about leaning towards the GTX though. It got a lot higher frames running MAX with dual monitors over the GTS. i run two...so yea two monitors in oblivion is pretty darn sweet! : )
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

are yous serious? you would rather pay 3x the money for an amd processor that isnt even as good as an intel proccessor that is a third of the price almost?

your a fanboys, and all fanboys need to die already

save some money and swallow your ignorant pride and get the intel because as of right now INTEL>AMD and from what ive been reading it will for a long while
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

it takes balls to defiantly stay loyal to amd... balls and money... both of which i respect
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i dont think its balls or money i think its ignorance
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Default

hmmm....wow....ignorance would be going on a thread and bashing other peoples opinions and calling them ignorant. i would do the same to you...but you've already proven your self as such by showing intel support. Thank you...but I don't believe this is a AMD VS INTEL thread....but like i previously said

"my hatred for intel goes deep into my veins"

anywho...

thanks for the help? haha....
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
it takes balls to defiantly stay loyal to amd... balls and money... both of which i respect

thanks man!!! : )
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

no ignorance is knowing that somehthing else is much better and much cheaper and going with something else that doesnt perform as well and is much more expensive, because your a fanboy who is still stuck in the old Athlon days.

look AMD USED to be king now intel is and they will be for a long while from the looks of things.

so why spend more for less performance?

there has been benchmarks showing that the 180 buck core 2 (with over clocking of course) matches the 700 buck fx 62 performance wise
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yeah if I bought an FX-62, I'd feel at least a little dumb that my buddy could outrun me with a e6600 Conroe. But whatever, that's as far as I'll take that.

If I never knew the price of an FX62, I'd say you have an ownage setup
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.