New, Old, or both (HDDs) .... and a sound card question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Default New, Old, or both (HDDs) .... and a sound card question

So I'm buying a new computer.
Right now I have a 250GB and a 300GB HDD. Both are PATA.

Would you reccomend:
a) Buy 2 new SATAs, and keep the PATAs
b) Just use my current PATAs
c) Just use the new SATAs

(New HDDs: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM)

The MoBo holds 4 PATA devices, and 4 SATA devices.

I'm wondering if the $150 is worth the 284 MB/s increase in speed

Thanks for your opinions.

SubQuestion B: (:P)
If I have a sound card, and I plug in headphones/etc. into the audio ports built into the computer case, will I get the sound-card quality, or the integrated audio quality. (I'm pretty sure that its the latter)
__________________

Crazydog115 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs)

I'd go with C
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs)

both... nothing wrong with having more space heh or for backup...

or u can keep one, and turn one into an external HD
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs)

Make Your Internal Drive External

thats the link...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs) .... and a sound card question

hm...I guess I might just buy one drive and use it for files I need to access quickly....for games and stuff..
PS: Still waiting for an answer to the other question
Crazydog115 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs) .... and a sound card question

Sound-card Quality. It'll only change if you plug it back into the Onboard Audio.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: New, Old, or both (HDDs) .... and a sound card question

You will have to change the jumpers to go from the onboard audio to the sound card (at least I have to on mine)
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are my HDDs failing?! Help determining, + Data recovery! UsernameTaken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 03:10 PM
2 hdds w/ Vista and XP zacharyt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-14-2007 10:36 PM
FS: CPU/Mobo Set (ram also) 2 HDDs! Demalii Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-07-2007 05:20 AM
2 seagate hdds with the same prob raza Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-13-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.