New MSI 6600gt doesnt look all that great... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 01:08 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Sweet, glad everything worked out for you. Yeah, I have a similer problem with Half Life as well. If I run it at any thing above 1024 x 768 all the words and crap are huge and bulky. Oh well. Easy come, easy go.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:05 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

I like running games at 1024x768 good mix of quality & speed
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 02:58 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Well, I do know that you're right. But he has the AGP version. Correct me if i'm wrong, but the AGP version is crap compared to the PCI-e version.
been a few days since this post, but I thought I'd correct ya. Theres no noticeable difference between AGP and PCI-E dude.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 04:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Really? Isn't there some card that the PCI-e version was really really good, and the AGP was crap? Like they put GDDR on one and GDDR3 on the other..... Or am I just crazy?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:10 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

My AGP version has GDDR3, I think it has all the same specs as the PCI-e, well, minus the PCI-e connector that is...
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:17 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
HAHA, High-end, lol. No, its not good enough for Half Life 2. For one; Half Life 2 hates Nvidia cards, and for another; are you sure theres nothing wrong with your videocard? Over-overclocking, overheating...etc.
Please leave these forums. The 6600gt is perfect forHalf-Life 2.

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
Really? Isn't there some card that the PCI-e version was really really good, and the AGP was crap? Like they put GDDR on one and GDDR3 on the other..... Or am I just crazy?
Yes you are crazy...

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
yeah, take of the 2x AA and 1x AF. I don't think you're card is built to have those on.
Just like Flanker, stop giving bad recommendations... or stop posting.... 6600gt not being able to have any anti-aliasing.. GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!

Oh and good job getting it to work *on your own* .
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

The difference between AGP and PCI-E versions is the 500/900 and 500/1000 clock speeds.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

Apparently the AGP version has been pushed to well over 1000.
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:55 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
Please leave these forums. The 6600gt is perfect forHalf-Life 2.

Yes you are crazy...

Just like Flanker, stop giving bad recommendations... or stop posting
Dude, what's your problem, and who gave you the authority to kick people off of TF? And Flanker has been here a heck of a lot longer than you, so stop acting like a moderator.

And the 6600GT is not a high end card.
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

I don't have the authority to kick people off CTF.

I just hate when people know nothing about computer hardware and then go around and act like they know what they are talking about.

I have sometimes given off advice on a product, but not NEAR as many times as this guy.
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.