New Motherboard, RAM and Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Hey guys, time has come for me to upgrade to an e6750 which means new motherboard and new RAM.

Now, I'm pretty sure I need a motherboard that has an FSB of 1333MHz (correct me if I'm wrong). I was originally planning to get the P35-DS3R but seeing as that doesn't support 1333MHz (again, correct me if I'm wrong) I need to set my sights elsewhere.

What is another good overclocking motherboard that supports SATA1 AND SATA2 and has an FSB of 1333 MHz?


I have a 7900 GTX so some space around the PCI area would be good and better if it had two PCI-e's (I'll go SLI soon)

Thanks!

Sorry I accidently posted this in overclocking, can I delete that thread somehow?
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

The Gigabyte P35-DS3R does have a maximum FSB of 1333MHz.
It is also an excellent C2D board.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
The Gigabyte P35-DS3R does have a maximum FSB of 1333MHz.
It is also an excellent C2D board.
yeah just about everyone here is recommending the board if you aren't going to SLI. For SLI the P5N-E 650 is probably the best
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Don't go SLI, go 8800GTS
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Hmm, would either of those motherboards support a Q6600 seeing as that is where gaming is going these days. (Quad Core) Seeing as it is so cheap I might just buy that instead.
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Yes..
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Don't go SLI, go 8800GTS
Haha I don't have the money to buy a motherboard, processor, RAM AND a new graphics card. At any rate would 8800 GTS be that much better than 2 x 7900 GTX?
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Does slaughter apply to graphic cards?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Haha, well I can find an 8800 GTX for about 250 australian bucks so I might just upgrade to that about a month after buying all this stuff
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: New Motherboard, RAM and Processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raziel-Zero View Post
Haha I don't have the money to buy a motherboard, processor, RAM AND a new graphics card. At any rate would 8800 GTS be that much better than 2 x 7900 GTX?
Quote:
Does slaughter apply to graphic cards
my 7900gs' in sli score higher in 3dm06 than many systems with 8800gts cards. not 768's (unless someone is doing something wrong lol), and not a whole lot of 640's. but higher than a lot of 320's.
7900GTX in sli is certainly nothing to scoff at...
so, actually i dont think it wouldnt be that much better, if at all. but there is dx10 to consider, i guess. definitely not the lower 8800gts cards (320 and 640). the 640 MIGHT give a run. dude if you can get a 7900gtx cheaply, then two of those cards will be pretty friggin sweet.
if you're going to have to pay 500 bucks (i dont know how much that is in australia heh) for another 7900gtx, then you might as well get the 8800gts 768. 'cos it will certainly be sweet.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.