New Motherboard Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2006, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Angry New Motherboard Problems

So I got a cheap 775 motherboard capable of supporting my AGP card and I intalled it all into my computer...so the only things changing are motherboard and processor....so i try to start it up and it loops between the start up and the "windows did not start sucessfully last time" screen.....so i checked BIOS setup and it looks fine to me, when i hit F11 for my IBM product recovery I get "Our BIOS doesnt support your product recovery CD" or somthing like that....ive used my IBM disk and the disk that came with the motherboard but NOTHING works......what do I do?
__________________

PitfireX is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

your going to need a real copy of windows. windows xp RARELY boots after changing the motherboard as it is "keyed" to the motherboard. the cd doesn't work either because you no longer have an IBM motherboard
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

so wait....because of a motherboard change....i have to get a completely new windows?
PitfireX is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

yes you do.
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not exactly. changing the motherboard requires you re-install windows or at the very least do a "repair". however seeing as you don't have a real windows disc that means you will need to obtain one.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

how can i do a repair without getting to the windows screen?
PitfireX is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default

You need a real windows disk to repair or reinstall, not a backup.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837116193
yorikatl is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

ok....could i use my friends disk and then go download vista beta? just to hold me for now?
PitfireX is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

YEah just borrow you friends disk. I wouldn't get the beta of vista if I was you. Just make sure it is widows and no windows from another company like ibm or gateway. OR it would be no good.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.