new motherboard, no picture - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2009, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default new motherboard, no picture

well, as the topic states ive just rebuilt my PC with a new motherboard, made sure all the connections are in properly, ive started it up and at first, it was showing picture through my monitor and 4870 but when i was booting up i kept on getting BSOD's, so i tried restarting the comp and after the restart i havnt had any picture on my monitor, the motherboard is an asus 780a sli.
__________________

lukas is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

have you tried resetting the cmos, check to see that the cmos battery is not dead. also try one stick of ram at a time.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

how do i check if the battery is 'dead'? and how do i reset it, just remove it and stick it back in?
lukas is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

get a multimeter and read the voltage, it should be about 3V, if i remember correctly. to reset the cmos there should be a jumper on the mobo and all you will have to do is short it out. heck your board might even have a button to reset it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

sorry to sound like an utter retard but i dont know anything about what your saying, i think your gonna need to show me a picture of the jumper and explain how to short it if you could that would be great, thanks.
lukas is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

it's ok we were a bunch of noobs at one point too.

look in your mobo manual under table of contents and look for some thing like CMOS reset. try that first. then try booting up with only one stick of ram in at a time.

and just to make sure, cause i'm a little slow too, you are saying that as soon as you turn the pc on it BSOD once then you restarted and now there is nothing on the monitor AKA it's not posting.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

no, i had it all set up first, i could use my PC in the bios etc, but then when i exited the bios and booted up it BSOD after the windows loading thing, so i restarted the pc and then i wasnt getting a picture on my monitor, but all my fans and gfx card are running normal etc, ive tried both the slots on my gfx card, ive tried plugging my monitor into my onboard gfx but that didnt work.
lukas is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

Did you reinstall windows after got your new motherboard? If not it may be too many changes for windows and that's why you are getting BSOD all the time.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

a reinstall of windows is needed.

but can you get in the bios at all now???
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: new motherboard, no picture

right, ive got my picture working but now ive gotta sort the BSOD's out, il take a stick of ram out now.
__________________

lukas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 09:16 PM
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 05:51 PM
Processor Upgrade for the P4MSD-800 D2 Motherboard Scinadier System Upgrades 7 05-09-2008 02:16 PM
PC Build: Which Asus motherboard? (Ordering all parts in 24hours) DJ Redrum New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-09-2008 05:59 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.