New motherboard. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 12:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New motherboard.

So this is what I am hearing from you guys.

x38
p5k deluxe (Had this one reccomended like five times)
975x
IP-35 pro

How about specific examples of these chipsets? Either from newegg or zipzoomfly. Time and money are not a problem to me. I just want the best possible board.

Any other opinions, or backing something thats already been suggested??
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: New motherboard.

My P35 Plat can hit 471FSB.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New motherboard.

I am basically Taking Votes now, from anyone and everyone. So keep them comming.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New motherboard.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Ultra Durable 2, Ultra Cooling Intel Motherboard - Retail

You know you want it. Btw what board are you on now that is giving you the problems?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New motherboard.

Gigabyte GA-965P DS3 (Rev 3.3, BIOS F12)

Yea, that looks nice.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New motherboard.

"
I believe the other guy was right... you're running your memory at too high a speed. DDR2 800 actually means that the memory was meant to run at 400MHz not 800MHz, because the first D in DDR means "double" data rate, so that 2x400MHz = 800 MHz effective, not actual. Look at your System Memory Multiplier on your BIOS screen. It's currently set to 2.0. That means it is multiplying your current FSB at 332MHz by 2 so your RAM is currently running at 664MHz. 664 > 400 which means your RAM is OVERclocked, not UNDER.
"

I think this guy is full of crap..
Anyone else think so?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New motherboard.

I can't seem to find the ASUS P5B deluxe anywhere..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New motherboard.

p5b is still the older chipset isnt it? And yes, that guy was retarded.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: New motherboard.

The P5K Deluxe is the new one I think. You should consider MSI P35 Platinum.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: New motherboard.

ya, typically in the BIOS your ram speed is selected at the actual speed. But look into cpu-z. it should give you the 400mhz reading if running at 800mhz.

Here is the IP-P35 pro by Abit.

Newegg.com - ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.