New Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2007, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default New Monitor

Forgot to tell you guys this morning I got my 226bw Samsung 22" monitor last night.
If you are asking your self right now, "Is it an S panel?"
Yes it is. And it looks AMAZING. I had no idea what I was missing untill I saw this think power up.

The only thing I have left to buy for my new rig is the video card.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New Monitor

Nice!...Where'd you buy it from? I'm looking into getting that monitor as well.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: New Monitor

I got it from ebay, its the only place that I could find an s panel, no local stores had it. Got it brand new, had about 15 min of run time from when the guy took the pictures of the service screen. Same price as I would of payed at a retail store too, I was all over it.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: New Monitor

I have the revised version which I got from newegg. It doesn't say on the back anymore what panel you have. I wonder if theres a program or something that could detect it. But overall I'm happy with it, so I don't really want to know.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New Monitor

You can't expect less, from a company like Samsung. They're top notch.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New Monitor

S panel? I want to know if mine is an S Panel. What does it mean anyway? Lolz.

The monitor to me doesnt seem like its sturdy.

When I press the sides on this monitor, it makes some noise like as if its a bit loose or something. Which gives me a reason to switch to the gateway which is really sturdy. I do like the fact that you can adjust the height on this compared to the 22" gateway where you can only change the tilt on it. But i dont like the fact that it only has two inputs, VGA and DVI. But the colors are great, well i havent really compared the two side by side. So I have to actually connect the gateway to my computer to see what the difference are.

Hopefully Im not making a mistake by changing from my Samsung 22bw to a Gateway 22" monitor.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: New Monitor

Dont do it, how can you sacrifice 3000:1 contrast ratio. I love this monitor especiallly on dynamic contrast. The backlight can be annoying when it dims but it reduces bleed.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: New Monitor

love my syncmaster 940BW, very good and it wasnt too expensive either
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM
Duel monitors, Primary monitor not knowing its primary software wise teh_gr1m Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-29-2007 01:02 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.