New Mobo, RAM, and CPU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2010, 11:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Patonb, I thought games don't utilize all 4 cores. Not fully at least. Is this true?

The Ripjaws being worse timings, does that really matter only when you overclock? AFAIK, a slow timing wouldnt jeopardize your chance of running games at max. Right?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Many new games are now using 4 cores.. I don't game alot, but they are starting to go 4 core.. but yes historically games were/are dual core.

Its hARD to find an exact list, but i think even Civ 5 is doing it.

Slower ram timings mean that when you oc you'll have to slow them even more to keep them stable.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 12:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I said worse, not worst lol. The ripjaws ontop of being only 4GB had worse timings than OPs OCZ 6GB kit.

Depends on the GPU in question honestly, what res you can play at (or want), and the eye candy you desire. If i played at 1680x1050 with a 5770 id want a cheaper 955 and OC it because i know there wont be any CPU limitations due to the 5770 not being all that powerful. If he wants SLI 470s than he wants to limit bottlenecking to a minimum with a faster CPU by Intel. At 4.2 in synthetics my 465 is still being bottlenecked. I can only imagine how bad it would be if i still had a 4ghz 955. (Granted the same situation with his 470 ect)

When gaming you dont exactly want to skimp out on CPU and you definitely dont want to skimp out if you plan on having alot of graphics horsepower. A lesson i learned a long time ago.

So Theoretically, When I get my new system, I shouldn't go for a 955, As when I Crossfire my 5770 It will bottleneck me? I didn't even know games use four Cores...
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Many new games are now using 4 cores.. I don't game alot, but they are starting to go 4 core.. but yes historically games were/are dual core.

Its hARD to find an exact list, but i think even Civ 5 is doing it.

Slower ram timings mean that when you oc you'll have to slow them even more to keep them stable.
So, if he isn't overclocking, not that he said either way, RAM timings do not matter. Correct?

I expected newer games use 4 cores, I'm just unsure which of those he plays. So maybe he doesn't need an Intel?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 01:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

RAM timings do matter on AMD systems due to the fact that they are slower speeds. Platforms like P55 (1156) take more advantage of speed over timings. The gist of it though is you want the fastest speed with the tightest timings that fits your budget on any platform.

There are only a handful of games that utilize all 4 cores but people tend to rule out the fact that Core i is a faster architecture than Phenom 2 and so even a faster Core i dual would be better than say a Phenom 2 quad depending on the game in question. But having a quad helps in other areas even if a game doesnt utilize all 4 cores. For instance your game can max out 2 threads and the other 2 threads are there for all of your background tasks for Windows, or something like that. With games id say you need a healthy balance between OC and cores to get the max potential out of ones system.

Faster architecture also helps to process more information faster for faster graphics cards like his 470, or if he was to SLI to limit a bottleneck as much as possible in any game or benchmark that utilizes all that power. So in other words, if he can afford an i7 he should go with an i7. Im actually pondering myself if i should upgrade to a faster i7 for when i go SLI 465.

@ iPro theoretically yes but with scaling and utilization factors there wouldnt be much of a noticeable difference between say an i7 and a 955 thats OCed with Crossfire 5770s. Only difference youd see with that setup would be in synthetics.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Isn't Intel and AMD well matched? I know friends that play many games and are on Intel and AMD.

I agree, AMDs aren't as powerful as Intels are. The benchmarks say so. In reality though, are we playing Crysis on full?

Edit: I have those Ripjaws, and I am having no problems playing SC2 on ultimate or otherwise. No, I am not OCing.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 03:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Well considering i went from a 955 to an i5, i speak from experience about bottlenecking and whatnot. I did the move to give my 280s some breathing room and it in fact made a difference. To a normal gamer that doesnt pay attention to such things one wouldnt notice the difference between the 2. I do though, and if the budget allows a 1366 i7 then there really isnt an AMD that can hang with that in games.

I never once said that the timings on the ripjaws would cause slowness or problems, just that having faster speeds and tighter timings never hurt if you can get it cheaper

And for the record, i played Crysis in full with an AMD =D
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 03:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

What do you mean by bottlenecking? Not the term, but how? iPRO and I scratch our heads, thinking, how is that possible?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 04:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Best way to explain it is, drop your CPU to stock. Run 3dmark06 (yes, i know thats a synthetic) and record the GPU scores. Then, OC it slowly and watch those GPU scores rise. Thats your CPU basically giving your GPU breathing room for lack of explination. I know thats just a benchmark but it works the same in games for higher powered GPUs. Its like people dont believe me when i say even at 4.2ghz i bottleneck an OCed 465. Well ****, a 6ghz 980x also bottlenecks 4 480s.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 04:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: New Mobo, RAM, and CPU

Ya to explain myself on the ripjaws I was tired I posted the wrong link at first and than when i edited and put the 2nd on there i didn't think to fix my mistake. lol

Check my first post again. I fixed it

That kit has better timings than the OP
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo + CPU help! Rinaldi363 System Upgrades 8 12-14-2006 10:12 AM
mobo? N0toriou5 System Upgrades 0 12-13-2006 05:55 PM
Need an AGP mobo, CPU blaackoran Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 12-12-2006 06:24 PM
Micro ATX mobo vs ATX mobo newton System Upgrades 3 07-24-2006 02:25 AM
front panel mobo connectors and front audio mobo connectors help!!! ardy89 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-19-2004 11:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.