New mobo, questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2008, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default New mobo, questions.

Just got my new GA-P35-DS3L, I noticed there was a bios update to support 45nm chips that came out a while ago, Was wondering if the board would already have this update on it, or if I Would have to flash? (My e8400 will be here in a couple of days..)

If I do have to flash, how do I go about doing it without a floppy drive?
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New mobo, questions.

Nah you don't need to flash it, but its always recommended you flash
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Re: New mobo, questions.

You need to look in your bios to see what version bios you currently have. You need the F8a version.

You can download it onto a usb flash drive to flash it. You can also use the @bios software that game with your Gigabyte mobo CD.

I used the @bios program to flash F8f bios and it worked fine and was easy.

I also saved both F7 bios and the F8f bios onto a usb flash drive just so I have them.
Iron Feet is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: New mobo, questions.

So the new CPU will work even if the BIOS isnt flashed with the update to support 45nm?
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: New mobo, questions.

I think the p35 supports 45nm without any bios updates, so yeah the new cpu should work.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New mobo, questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftEyeBlind View Post
So the new CPU will work even if the BIOS isnt flashed with the update to support 45nm?
yep (.... 5 character limit)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
Lots of questions help.... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-01-2007 02:28 AM
Questions about the 680i mobo Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-16-2007 01:27 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.