New Mobo, not i7... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2009, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default New Mobo, not i7...

I'm upgrading, actually rebuilding my system... I'm moving from a crossfire setup to a Nvidia / future sli setup. I would like the i7 setup but cost is just too much for everything right now..

I just ordered a EVGA GTX 295 and now have my sights set on a new mobo...

I need one that would be excellent at oc'ing my Q6600, that will SLI, and would also like to stick with EVGA for the step up program.

I was looking at the 750i and 780i FTW boards and from what I can tell the only difference is that the 780i will tri sli and the 750i does not. Correct? I don't know that I'll tri sli but would like to have the option, I know I'll have to get a new psu which will be slated to upgrade later this year. I know tri sli with the 295's would be extreme overkill.

I like the price of the 750i though but will it do 16x on both pcie slots in sli or will I be stuck with 8x? How would it be at oc'ing the Q6600, any history on this?


Also, would it be worth it to upgrade my memory to 1066?

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

i think the EVGA 750i FTW can do x16/x16 SLI, i dunno about the vanilla one...

GTX295's do not support TRI-SLI so that feature would not be needed unless you went and got a GTX285/280/260

veedub used to have one for his q6600, i'm sure he'll chime in here soon
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
i think the EVGA 750i FTW can do x16/x16 SLI, i dunno about the vanilla one...

GTX295's do not support TRI-SLI so that feature would not be needed unless you went and got a GTX285/280/260

veedub used to have one for his q6600, i'm sure he'll chime in here soon
Good to know.. So looks like I'm going with the 750i just looking for the other details on the FTW model...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan1784 View Post
Good to know.. So looks like I'm going with the 750i just looking for the other details on the FTW model...
its a 780i without the 3rd pci-e slot...
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

Should I look at upgrading my memory from 800 to 1066? I'm thinking that matching the fsb of my cpu to the memory would be a good idea.. Is that true?
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California ;)
Posts: 181
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

You can OC your RAM too. =O
scrimstar is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrimstar View Post
You can OC your RAM too. =O
I haven't really had much luck oc'ing the memory I have now...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

what do you mean "match" your cpu?

To match DDR2-1066 you would need a FSB of 533mhz...

Your RAM/CPU match right now at DDR2-800 and 3.6ghz
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

So if my memory right now was bad for oc'ing it may be preventing me from getting past 3.6ghz? Would 1066 give me more room to move?
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: New Mobo, not i7...

Yea 1066 could allow you to reach a higher fsb. But it depends what your FSB:RAM ratio is.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.