New MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2013, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default New MOBO

So I purchased a new MOBO. ASRock N68C-GS FX/ S FX. I put an old Atholon 64 in the here and wired everything. It turns on, but I still get no signal. Any thoughts? There is a 4 pin connector for the cpu. My psi has that 4 pin connector and it goes into the main. There is no extra 4 pin. I tried to just use the 20 pins and plug the 4 pin the cpu slot and nothing happens.
__________________

__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New MOBO

Uhhh this board?

ASRock > N68C-GS FX
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: New MOBO

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenapples View Post
So I purchased a new MOBO. ASRock N68C-GS FX/ S FX. I put an old Atholon 64 in the here and wired everything. It turns on, but I still get no signal. Any thoughts? There is a 4 pin connector for the cpu. My psi has that 4 pin connector and it goes into the main. There is no extra 4 pin. I tried to just use the 20 pins and plug the 4 pin the cpu slot and nothing happens.



Take that 20 pin +4 connector and put it into the main slot.
Make sure your 4 pin atx connector is inserted in properly.
Check your case wires closely, one for pwr, rst, led and hdd.
Take your pwr and connect it first, power on the machine.
If nothing happens, you have the wire in reverse, flip it and reinsert.
Once you here it fire on, shut it down after 10 seconds and do the rest of the wires correctly/

For the record, please specify which psu model brand you have.
Look at the label on the psu and look for the model number.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New MOBO

Yes that is the mobo. Solid Gear, SDGR-550E. I'm thinking it could be the cpu no? It runs extremely loud, regardless of the fan. It is very loud. I can turn the cpu through the front panel. But I get no picture.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New MOBO

If you're trying to use a S939 Athlon 64 in there, then that won't work. That is an AM3+ board made for all DDR3 AMD processors.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New MOBO

I took of the 8 pin pci e connectors. They are split. But still no picture.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: New MOBO

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenapples View Post
I took of the 8 pin pci e connectors. They are split. But still no picture.
Just to verify somethings, when you hit power did it come on and the keyboard lights flickered 3 times ?
That will be a good sign of normal posting from your bios.
If it didn't come on, not even a flicker of the fan trying to spin up.
It maybe a psu issue, lastly what type of ram did you use ?
I noticed that motherboard can use ddr2 and ddr3 ?

Which one did you use and which brand name and capacity is it ?
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 09:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New MOBO

I used two oem hp ram 512 mb sticks at 533 mhz. Question: this is the website model ASRock > N68C-GS FX, however the socket colour on my mobo is white. Is this normal? I am planning on buying a Sempron. The psu is brand are brand new.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New MOBO

And the fan spins extremely loudly, to the point the case vibrates really bad. The cpu did the exact same thing in its original mobo. I tried two fans and all are loud. So I don't believe it's a fan issue.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: New MOBO

So I bought a new cpu and some. Installed it and the screen still would not show. I removed the gnu and used the on board one, and now it works! Thanks for the help Mike.
__________________

__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.