New Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2010, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default New Mobo?

What do you all think of this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813130265R
as a replacement for this, which is what I'm presently using:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-381-_-Product

I'm thinking about taking the Gigabyte board out for another budget build, and give the gaming computer that the Gigabyte mobo comes out of an upgrade(?) in the process. I'm not very "up" on motherboards. Thanks.
__________________

croSSeduP is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 02:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: New Mobo?

Links are broken?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 03:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: New Mobo?

Let's try these. Board I'm looking at getting:
Newegg.com - Open Box: MSI 790XT-G45 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard
Board I'd be replacing and putting in another (budget crossfire) build:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New Mobo?

Theyre pretty much the same board, with yhour old one, the gig, having more usb plugs.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: New Mobo?

One difference I noticed is that the MSI board has 2 PCI-E 2.0 x16 slots where the Gigabyte board has 1 of those and one PCI-E 2.0 x8 slot. Don't know if that makes any diff, though.
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New Mobo?

Doesn't make much difference really... reviews have shown a loss of 3 to 7 fps in 16/16 vs 16/8

Where did you find the msi had 16/16 ? Don't doubt you, I just didn't see it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 11:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: New Mobo?

If you click the Newegg link above, and then click on details, scroll down to "expansion slots" it says:
PCI Express 2.0 x16 - 2
It would save me a bunch of work to keep the board that is in my "Gamer" in there than put another mobo in there. It would just be nice to put all the new parts in my best computer. But, on the other hand, if the Gigabyte board ever "blows up" I can get a new one for THAT....
__________________

croSSeduP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need New Mobo rebell07 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-10-2007 04:58 AM
Micro ATX mobo vs ATX mobo newton System Upgrades 3 07-24-2006 02:25 AM
new mobo need help gtwill040 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-31-2006 09:49 AM
ddr 333 ram in mobo with max ddr 266??? quartz01 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-30-2004 01:35 AM
front panel mobo connectors and front audio mobo connectors help!!! ardy89 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-19-2004 11:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.