New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2007, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!



Before the Bios flash I was getting 9800~

Honestly so far I love the value of this card. For $260~ + Free Bios flash I have a great card that was worth every penny. These are all stock settings, ram/cpu and GPU are all at stock. I'm going to keep messing around with the overclocks see if I can't get past 12/13k.

I'm having a problem tho, every time I try and run any sort of benchmark with my CPU even slightly overclocked my system locks up about halfway through the first test (No matter how long, even the Vista system rating tool). Right now I think it could be my PSU.
I'm running a Hiper PSU - Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail

Is this even possible that the PSU isn't supplying enough power and causing the system to lock up? Everything else checks out and thats the only other thing I can think of.
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

I doubt it. That PSU has enough for a Q6600 and Ultra. Probably overclocked. Maybe you need more volts to the vcore.

I use the same PSU too

Congrats on the flash to success!
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

Flashing is awesome! Just don't let the cops catch you.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

I've tried going 1.4175+ and I still get the same problem. I'm afraid to push the V.Core any higher because it's already outside recommended voltage. Could my FSB be getting too hot and causing it to be unstable? I had to take the cooling plate off the back of my MoBo and attached the north bridge cooler, but it was hard to tighten because of the spring screws they used, I didn't want to damage anything. It feels flush and doesn't move. Honestly I'm getting a little frustrated as to why my system won't stay stable with a mild over clock (Even under 3Ghz). It's perfectly stable at stock.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

I would not be suprised if it were your power supply. It is not the most powerful (this is going to sound redundant) around... but yeah, I would definitely not exclude not enough power as one of the possible problems.

jonnyGURU's Personal Website

Have you tried overclocking with a less power consuming video card, perhaps?
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

A 580 should be plenty for that setup.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grievearz View Post
I've tried going 1.4175+ and I still get the same problem. I'm afraid to push the V.Core any higher because it's already outside recommended voltage. Could my FSB be getting too hot and causing it to be unstable? I had to take the cooling plate off the back of my MoBo and attached the north bridge cooler, but it was hard to tighten because of the spring screws they used, I didn't want to damage anything. It feels flush and doesn't move. Honestly I'm getting a little frustrated as to why my system won't stay stable with a mild over clock (Even under 3Ghz). It's perfectly stable at stock.
Only 1.41? I wouldn't hesitate to put 1.45 or 1.475. I've done it before on my Q6600. They can handle the volts.

hmm..It should be able to get to 3GHz on stock voltage though. What are your FSB, chipset, and DDR2 voltages?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

My FSB is +.2, Chipset is +.1, DDR2 +.4

Should I bump those up?
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 03:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!



Keep in mind it's vista...

Pretty Happy with these results after waaaay too long messing around with manual volts (Automatic would just NOT work). I finally found a good setting for 3.0 Ghz, now to find a good one for 3.2 or 3.4 >:3

ORB Results for anyone interested.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 03:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: New HD2900Pro to HD2900XT BioS Flash Sucess!

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I doubt it. That PSU has enough for a Q6600 and Ultra. Probably overclocked. Maybe you need more volts to the vcore.

I use the same PSU too

Congrats on the flash to success!
what does this mean though? It's reading the Pro like an XT now i understand, but can the Pro take the extra speed since the Pro really is a downclocked 2900?

congrats man!
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
2900PRO Bios Flash to 2900XT NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 39 10-07-2007 12:24 PM
help with BIOS flash snypercore New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-27-2007 08:12 PM
BIOS flash Mike9182 Overclocking and Modding 5 08-09-2007 10:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.