New guy and I need help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 09:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Case: 100679 - No PS - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Tower S $111.78
Power Supply: 100241 - PS 550W - Antec True Power 2 550 SLI ATX $93.99
Case Fan: 130146 - 120mm - Thermaltake Thunderblade A1926 Bl $9.63
Motherboard: 110791 - MSI K9N Platinum SLI Audio/GB-LAN/PCI-E/U $118.99
Processor: 120992 - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual-Core 512K Per $357.00
Thermal Grease: None
Heat Sink Fan: 800083 - None - Fan REQUIRED - except w/RETAIL BOX
Memory: 141513 - DDR2 (800) 6400 - 2 GB (2 pcs 1GB) Patrio $220.50
2nd Memory: None
Hard Drive: 150237 - SATA - Western Digital (WD360GD) 36 GB/10 $110.71
2nd Hard Drive: 150137 - IDE - Western Digital (WD2500JB) 250 GB/7 $75.99
CD-RW/DVD-RW: 160227 - DVD±RW - NEC ND-3550A 16X Dual Layer DVD± $49.89
CD-RW Software: 210613 - Ahead Nero 6.6 Suite DVD+-RW Software (OE $15.99
DVD-ROM Software: 210600 - nVidia DVD Decoder 1.00.58 (OEM) $15.97
Floppy Drive: 170104 - Sony 1.44MB 3.5" (Black) Floppy Drive $19.66
Sound Card: 180425 - Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeMusic 7.1 24-Bit $113.62
Video Card: 190025 - EVGA Geforce 7900 GT KO 256MB GDDR3/PCI-E $272.69

Operating System: 210112 - Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition w/SP2 $94.81
Additional Software: None
Antivirus: None
Warranty: 800012 - Standard Tech Support, 1 Year $69.00

total is somwhere around $1800, configured at Monarch Computers
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Why get a 7900GT when he plans on getting DX10 cards? Wasted money.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

step up?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

hey sorry everyone I was gone today I was up flying practicing for my IFR, anyway a 1500 or below would be a nice budget 2 gigs will be good. first off I dont know a ton about all this computer stuff lol so dont get mad if I ask dumb questions we all gotta start somewhere. anyways I do plan on getting a direct X10 card when they come out, but I dont plan on doing a TON of gameing you know nothing to advanced maby flight simulator but other than that nothing huge. but with that budget what do you all say? and with that budget if you get somthing a little less then that would be good too because I plan to upgrade the GFX card and a few other thigns too lol.


thanks
Brian
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 03:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

and to be honest I am really not wanting to make this comp myself I would like to buy it pre made lol just so you all know
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 03:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

drop down to an OCZ 520W modstream. the PSU you listed is good, but you won't need THAT much power. the OCZ 520W will be more than enough.

the Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe already has a 10/100/1000 network card inbuilt
though I might recommend an MSI K9N SLI Platinum (it also has 10/100/1000 ethernet)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

thanks and one thing the first configuration I mentiond is now compleatly usless I was getting it from a site and decided not to so I am starting from scratch I was thinking monarch computers (SP?) or any other place with a good rep from you guys lol, so I need to start fresh lets start with a site and once agin my budget is about 1500 MAX and less would be nice but I do want a good computer lol.


thanks
Brian
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:09 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default

oh and one more thing is that where ever I get this computer at, what site and what not, Must have a payment plan because I dont think I can dish out the total all at once, so anyone got any ideas?
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:42 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

start here:
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...uct_Code=80920

and basically get something like:

520W OCZ Modstream

Athlon 64 X2 4200+ retail

MSI K9N Neo-F

eVGA 7900 GT KO

Seagate 250GB SATA

1GB (2 x 512MB) Patriot Signature DDR2-800

Windows XP Pro SP2
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:55 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 30
Default

Well, seeing as you are online, means that you already have a computer. If that computer is really bad, consider making a minor upgrade, maybe getting a new graphics card, more RAM, but don't buy a whole new system yet. Wait a few months maybe, for the DX10 Vid Cards and the Conroe CPU. If you can salvage more $$$, get a build with 2 gigs, Conroe, and a DX10 Vid card, and you'd be sexy. Well, that's just what I'm doing...
__________________

TaiwaneseKai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.