new guy here, I have a few questions - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 06:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

I think I've decided on an AMD Athlon 64, maybe a 3700+

KMOTE, how does your 4000+ perform?
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Ill answer that for him

COMING SOON

AMD Athlon 64 4000+
DFI Lanparty SLI
1GB(2x512MB)
7800GTX
160GB SATA
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:29 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

haha, okay, thanks

I got a $100 yesterday! Off to the store I shall go!
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:16 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

what are you gunna buy with a hundred bucks? the case?
The General is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
another problem with that is the X2 3800- equivalent to a 3.8GHz intel no. equivalent to 2 3.8GHz no. is the 4000 single core better,no.
AMD would like you to believe that their 4000 is = to a 4.0 GHz pentium but i for one find that hard to believe
If you're not going to believe facts, what ARE you going to believe? The AMD Athlon 64 4000+ DOES perform BETTER than a 4.0Ghz Pentium 4 (which doesn't exist). Even my processor right now, overclocked, performs better than a 4.0Ghz Pentium 4.

And you're not going to get anything good in $300 dude, not even $400. The Atlon 64 3700+ alone is $260, not to mention you need the case, mobo, memory, hard drives, optical drives, and video card, lol.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

I'm new, I'm not stupid - I know $100 isn't going to buy the mobo and I never said it would - and where did you hear $300 from, cause I never said anything of the sort. Obviously it's going to cost a good $1500 or more for everything. Anyways, thanks for the info on the 3X00+ to Intel thing, that helps with my decision of sticking with AMD.
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.