New Gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2009, 09:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New Gaming PC

that psu will br ok for 2 GTX285's,but you might want to upgrade.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Ok, wow thanks a lot! This computer's way better than the one I built and it's even cheaper lol, you guys are awesome!
__________________

azstars is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 12:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: New Gaming PC

the antec 900 case is pure crap i had it u cant fit anything in there,
there is no room to work on! i would recommend getting something diffrent!
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 01:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Alright, my next question is, I'm going to have 2 computers running to one monitor, so I need a KVM switch right? How do these work exactly?

EDIT: Really, the 900s are bad cases? I've heard really good things about them before. Is it a space issue or something? Would the GTX 285 fit in there?
azstars is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 01:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by azstars View Post
Alright, my next question is, I'm going to have 2 computers running to one monitor, so I need a KVM switch right? How do these work exactly?

EDIT: Really, the 900s are bad cases? I've heard really good things about them before. Is it a space issue or something? Would the GTX 285 fit in there?
yeah the 285 will fit but if u would wanna add or take out a hard drive u will need to unplug EVERYTHING and take out all the cards out in order to do a simple thing like that!
i orderd a cooler master haf 932 case it got awesome air flow roomy and lots of fans
look into it. it might not look as good but u will love it in a long run!
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 02:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Alright, thanks, I'm gonna check that one out. It looks like it definitely has more space lol.

I'm wondering now what kind of monitor I should use with this build. I want to be able to play games in 1920x1200 or 1920x1080 atleast, and I'll watch DVDs every once in a while so I also want it to display those well. I'm hoping to spend less than $250 too, hopefully that works. Any suggestions?
azstars is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Those monitors look like what I'm looking for! Would this build (the i7 one a few posts back), be able to run games on a 52" 1080P VIZIO in 1080P HD? Or is that idea even realistic?
azstars is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 05:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by azstars View Post
Those monitors look like what I'm looking for! Would this build (the i7 one a few posts back), be able to run games on a 52" 1080P VIZIO in 1080P HD? Or is that idea even realistic?
2x260s will do that easily, depending on the game. Might struggle on GTAIV at that res, tho. Also depends on what settings you're playing at.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 01:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Gaming PC

Cool! So would 2 285s work even better? Or is there not much performance increase after that? And would I be able to max some games out, or play them on high detail?
__________________

azstars is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Republic of Gamers Primed to Blow the Competition Away at CeBIT 2009 thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 1 03-05-2009 01:59 PM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
New Gaming System. Help? BoxcarRichard New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-26-2008 06:15 AM
Green Peace Thinks Gaming is bad for the environment Harper Off Topic Discussion 15 03-14-2008 08:00 AM
Help me choose Gaming PC fameb New Systems | Building and Buying 51 03-11-2008 04:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.