New Gaming PC... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2006, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Question New Gaming PC...

Ok I posted this in the wrong section before not realzing there is more than 1 forum for PC building (give me a break, its been awhile since I've been around :P)

I have finally decided everything I want except for the mobo, it's a toss up between 3...

Case: Antec P180 Mid-Tower Silver (No PSU)

Monitor: 19" Viewsonic CRT (Already have and will NOT switch to flat)

Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech MX5000 Bluetooth (alrdy have)

CPU: Intel Core2 Extreme processor x6800 (2.93GHz)

Memory: Corsair 2 GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 2 DIMMs

Hard Drive: Seagate 500GB SATA-2 Hard Drive 7200RPM 16MB Cache w/ NCQ

Video Card: ATI X1900 XTX 512 MB

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W Power Supply

Cooling: Case comes with 3 fans... I will get the 120 mm for the front and GPU later.

DVD: LG DVD Writer 16x +/- DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe

Mobo:
1) MSI 975X Platinum V.2 Core2 Duo DDR2 800+ upto 8GB, 2 PCI-E 16X, Gb LAN, RAID, IEEE 1394, SATA2
2) Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 Core2 Duo P965 DDR2 800 IEEE
3) Asus P5W DH Deluxe Core2 Duo, Intel 975X 1066/800MHz, Dual-channel DDR2 800/667/ 533 max 8GB, Dual Gigabit LAN

Sound Card: SB Live! Audigy 2 (alrdy have)

What do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you make me jealous. If I were you I would got with a 74gig raptor also since you are already going this big.

and I would get a 500gig in sata 3.0gb/s newer technology and faster.

Those are all good brand mobo, I dont have any experience in c2d boards, I am sure that in a little bit someone else here will suggest one of those for you.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well i've heard a lot of solid pro's for the Gigabyte DS3 as the best value mobo for OCing and stability.

so i'd suggest going for the gigabyte.

Also just a thought but if you want to save money and get better ram you could get this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227089
only problem is that you have to manually set timings and speed for the ram but after that they OC really well and are very fast too. just don't expect any rebates from OCZ.

hope that helps.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131025
Best borad for conroe period.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

Is there a difference between the ATI X1900 XTX and the Sapphire X1900 XTX?

Also, does anyone have any other opinions on the mobos? The Asus or the Gig?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

porbably cost. I dont think it matters between those two companys, they are both good.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

best board for conroe is inteld975xbx!

bad axe...and blue flame heat sinks!!! You can't beat that...can't beat the blue flame! hehe


Also, why not switch to flat...or more correctly LCD. I have 4 giant CRTs, 2 19 and 2 20...I'll switch...when they die! But I would. Nothing wrong with LCD...or maybe by that time, flexible oled...or nano crystal
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
best board for conroe is inteld975xbx!
I'll second that /pointatsig
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
and I would get a 500gig in sata 3.0gb/s newer technology and faster.
He is getting one. SATA II = SATA 3.0gb/s. Even if it was SATA I (or SATA150) it wouldn't make a difference. SATA I isn't even being fully itilized. A good example of this is the Raptor X 150GB hard drive.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 08:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

oh sorry, I wasnt sure but posted it anyways, well now I know they are teh same.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.