New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2008, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

I'm attempting to build a desktop gaming computer. I've got everything put together however when I press the power button nothing comes on the screen and there isn't a beep to tell me it's even on... i'm assuming something must be incompatable or something is hooked up wrong. here is what i'm using (all from newegg), any thoughts would be much appreciated:

Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail
LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model GH22LS30 - OEM
Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80580Q9400 - Retail
ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
EVGA 512-P3-N975-AR GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Retail
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Retail
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

I've got the 64 bit home premium version of Vista as well.. but i haven't made it that far yet
__________________

asparks is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

Open up your computer and make sure the Power Button cords are plugged in. From looking at pictures they are coming out of here:
__________________

billenium is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

If the above doesn't work the switch may be broken or the motherboard.
Do the fans spin up?
If not;
Try shorting the contacts on the motherboard for the on switch with a knife just for a moment complete the circuit then pull the knife away this is essentially what the switch does.
If they do
Change the monitors and check on another pc
Change the graphics card and check on another pc
Change the graphics card slot on the motherboard
Clear the cmos
Check every DVI port
Ensure the cpu is compatible with that board from stock and doesn't need bios updates (If memory serves I don't think it does)
check the 24pin power cable is in
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

Make sure the power switch on the psu is on.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

Figured it out! The ATX12V connector wasn't plugged in (the powersupply had a 8/4 pin ATX12V connector leading to a bit of confusion). Thought I was going to loose my mind. Now attempting to boot...(which could also be painful seeing as how i'm going to try vista)
asparks is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New Gaming Desktop Build... Not Working... Need Help

lol i forgot that the first time i build a rig too, thought the world was gonna end
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gaming rig build funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-08-2008 02:31 PM
Need HTPC + Gaming build to be reviewed Shinzen New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-03-2008 11:31 AM
Build a Gaming system theoldnyx New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-15-2007 07:56 PM
Looking to build gaming computer need help goldenboy3413 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 06:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.