New FSX Gaming Rig - How Does It Sound? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2007, 07:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Also I always think it's a waste since I still haven't heard of one chip frying when overclocking a core 2 duo. It's just dumb fear and Core 2 Duo's will will not fry on their own. The computer will always shut down first.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Ultra's power supplies aren't known to be reliable, don't trust them
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

I run a TT 750 Watt along with a TT 850 Watt. Both have been great to me to date... Mainly went with them because of the modular cabling.
augest is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Sorry to burst your bubble man, but I built my System a few weeks ago primarily to run FSX. I would consider my system very high end, considering I have it clocked at 400x8 (3.2GHZ), and FSX runs HORRIBLE on my system. On full graphics, with 8x AA, 16x AF, 1680x1050 Widescreen, with my 8800 Card, I only get 6-25 FPS. Most other high end systems have the same result. Its not because of the PC, but because of the coding in the game.

FSX is set up to run primarily with DirectX10, which will not be available until December. I have heard that FSX runs a little smoother on Vista, but I am not sure. However, what is interesting is I can run Flight Simulator 2004 at over 100FPS with the same Graphics Options (maxed out) as FSX. So FS2004 will run awesome on your system. Im keeping my fingers crossed hoping that DirectX10 will solve the FSX Problem. I would have to guess and say that currently the only system that can run FSX so that it is flyable, would have to be a Quad Core Extreme with SLI with dual 8800GTX's OC'd to the Max! Its ridiculous, I know, but search around and youll see that there is very few PCs that run FSX very well....

Hope that helps!
Good luck with everything...

-Joe
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

first off an antec 550watt for 100 bucks will power theat system easily and it will power another gtx if you were going sli

get that gskaill ram ddr2 800 that was recommended

theres no reason for you to get that motherboard for what your using it for, get either a gigabyte ds3 or an asus p5b

also i have yet to hear of anyone in the world messing up a core 2 by overclocking so dont be a wuss about it
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

A LOT of wasted cash as Fade2 said. The Mobo, unnecessary. The 800w PSU, a WASTE. Not overclocking.....i just feel sad lol.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

ok. how is the modular design on the TT toughpower 750 watt, and is the Corsair PC6400 800 MHz dominator ram any good?
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

well, eventually i will get around to OC'ing. but i just need to do some research on how much is safe, and exactly how to do it. lol. i hear its easy and intel core 2's are great for it!
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

im also gonna switch over to he P5B as well.

but then, what if i ever decide to SLI? i wont have the option with the P5B.
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ethman101
im also gonna switch over to he P5B as well.

but then, what if i ever decide to SLI? i wont have the option with the P5B.
why exactly would you want to SLi?

Also, the P5B Deluxe supports SLi.. I believe, correct me if I'm wrong
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.