New FSX Gaming Rig - How Does It Sound? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2007, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default New FSX Gaming Rig - How Does It Sound?

hello all,

how does the new gaming rig i am about to build listed in my signature look. Its purpose is to run Flight Sim X with the highest settings, and great Frames per second. Any feedback or suggestions would be great.

thanks,
ethan
__________________

ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

That would run that game without a hitch, I believe. Don't get Ultra brand products...lol...especially with PSUs. Get the OCZ 600W, because 800W is too much power for your system. Also get DDR2-800 ram, because it's not that much more money, than DDR2-667.

Heres the PSU, I suggested:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341001

edit: Hey fellow New Yorker....what part you from?...and Welcome to TF!
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

where to begin....get cheap DDR2-800 G.Skill memory as 667 just won't overclock enough and it's more future proof. then 800w's is OVERKILL. You will only need 500 or 550 to be fine. That Mobo is still buggy honestly for the price.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

alright. im in westchester county. and i think ive switched to TT Toughpower 750-watt PSU, since it is a modular. (somewhat. lol) Also, 800 isnt overkill, cause not only do i need the wattage, but i need the amperage, and 550 usually doesnt give me that. any other recommendations on a MODULAR Psu?
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

also, could i have a link to some good ram?
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

wait you mean you cant find an a 550w PSU to run an 8800GTX? Umm a 400w FPS and TT Toughpower have been tested to run an 8800GTX. They usually have 18 amps on the dual rails which is 36. The card requires 30.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

also, i will NOT be doing any over clocking, because i dont want to mess with such a sensative system. also its my first build
ethman101 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ethman101
alright. im in westchester county. and i think ive switched to TT Toughpower 750-watt PSU, since it is a modular. (somewhat. lol) Also, 800 isnt overkill, cause not only do i need the wattage, but i need the amperage, and 550 usually doesnt give me that. any other recommendations on a MODULAR Psu?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002

54 amps on the 12v rail, 550 watts - Not modular, however

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139001

that's my recommendation for modular
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Heres some AMAZING RAM for not too much at all.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231114
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default

so if you think 550 watts will be fine, what do u think of the Ultra X2 550 watt power supply modular? it has a cool blue led. hehe
__________________

ethman101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.