New Dual Core Computer Troubles - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2005, 10:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

Originally posted by derekj46
i'm not using a server, and yes i have checked to make sure everything is seated correctly. i'm not sure what the beeps mean, but i think it may be a problem with the motherboard. if so, would resetting the cmos be a bad idea?
umm, arn't opteron's server processors?

set away i'd say. it's not gonna hurt havn't changed the bios, it most likely won't do anything.

you do need to figure out the beep code it's giving you though.
they are hard to hear sometimes, but....

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Pretty much any CPU can be a server processor....:freak:

The only significant thing is that its 64b, and thats not even that significant anymore.

Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 11:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9

Basically it's a beep (which lasts about 2 seconds) then about a 4 second pause before the beep is repeated, and then a 4 second pause and then a beep again...

I listened to it for about a minute, and this is the only code it gave me.

Now, I am using Corsair Registered XMS ram. But, non of the beep sites that anyone on the internet has is explaining this particular beep alert. Any ideas?
derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 04:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Its RAM or Video.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9

well, it's fixed. i can't really say i know why it wasn't working in the first place. i just put the memory back in and turned it on which i had done numerous times, but for some reason it just worked.... hmm. thanks for all the help!

derekj46 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.