New Dual Core Computer Troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Unhappy New Dual Core Computer Troubles

I just built a new computer and I haven't yet been able to even get to the bios.

here are the specs:
-Foxconn NF4PIK8AA-8EKRS Socket 940 NVIDIA nForce Pro 2200 ATX AMD Motherboard
-AMD Dual-Core Opteron 270 Italy 1GHz FSB 2MB L2 Cache Socket 940
-2gigs Corsair XMS (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) ECC Registered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT
-SAPPHIRE 100101SR-RD Radeon X850XT PE 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16

when i try to turn the computer on it appears as though it were running, but nothing appears on the screen. i have tried using different monitors, outputting to a tv, and i even swapped out video cards with my other one, and the x850 worked on the other computer, but the other video card did not work in my new one. i am worried that maybe the cpu is not compatible with the mobo although it says it is compatible with the opteron dual core series... any help would be greatly appreaciated. thanks!
__________________

derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default Re: New Dual Core Computer Troubles

Quote:
Originally posted by derekj46

-2gigs Corsair XMS (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) ECC Registered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT
U dont need ECC ram for a normal computer, ECC is mainly for Servers.


Also... dose the computer beep when u start it up?
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

yes, it beeps when i start it and it doesn't stop until i turn it off.
derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Re: New Dual Core Computer Troubles

Quote:
Originally posted by Sprooty
U dont need ECC ram for a normal computer, ECC is mainly for Servers.


Also... dose the computer beep when u start it up?
He is using a server.

Make sure all ram, video cards, processors are properly seated.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

i'm not using a server, and yes i have checked to make sure everything is seated correctly. i'm not sure what the beeps mean, but i think it may be a problem with the motherboard. if so, would resetting the cmos be a bad idea?
derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://www.helpwithpcs.com/upgrading...beep-codes.htm

If you are getting a beep code diagnosing and fixing the problem becomes pretty easy...and yeah, you're using a CPU that is classifed as a server or workstation processor
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

i have seen the beep codes before, and i haven't yet seen one that correctly describes the one i am hearing. i hear a series of longs beeps that have about a 4 second interval, and it doesn't stop.
derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

oh and it has a phoenix bios.
derekj46 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to SamLee0519
Default

Post the set of beeps. I know the 4 second interval, but how many beeps per set?
SamLee0519 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

there is only one beep every four seconds.
__________________

derekj46 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.