New Dual Core Computer Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Question New Dual Core Computer Problems

(Temps are fine from what I can tell. Max ive seen is 45 C)

I built this machine about a month ago, and everything seemed to work fine. Then Steam (Half life Multiplayer app) and Half-Life 2 kept crashing. I thought it was a problem with their last update, because a lot of people were complaining about it. Then i was just transferring files over my home network and I got a NTFS.SYS blue screen of death. It said a driver caused this error. I've gotten this error about 3 times now. Its happend while im playing a game, and its happend while its been idle also. I just upgraded my Video drivers to 81.98(It happend before this too) and chipset drivers are the newest. I installed the processor driver a while ago and I have the newest Raid drivers. I don't know what this could be, but i notices a slight flicker in my display for about 20 secs, it happens randomly. Like little black lines going horizontally up and down the screen. Let me know what you guys think, Thanks!


Edit - Yesterday the computer ran fine, i transferred files, Played games and everything. I'm going to try the memory 1 stick at a time. I cant switch out the psu or the vid card, because i dont have a 400watt+ psu spare or a pci-e vid card. only thing i have spare is 350 watt and some old ddr ram. Which are currently being used. Let me know what you guys think. THANKS!
__________________

dubbs is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Anything?
__________________

dubbs is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

It could be overheating, or it could be a problem with the RAM. It could also be data corruption on the hard drive. Read this:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=81429
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

thanks man, temps are fine like i said but it seems that it was the ram. ill keep ya posted.
dubbs is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Well.. I tested with 1 memory stick each. 1 worked, the other didnt. The memory stick that didn't work I sent back to corsair and I got the same exact type back and put it in.. and it still didnt work. Right now I'm running on one memory module and i get no blue screens or game crashes. With the other stick in, I do. Any IDEAS?
dubbs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.