New CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2006, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Default New CPU

Hi all, I'm about to buy a new PC in a couple of days/weeks. I was doing research the last week and now am at a point were I have to chose and for that I need you help. So far I got this:
AMD Athlon x2 4800+
AMD Athlon x2 FX60
AMD Athlon am2 or Intel Conroe

Now my questions:

1. Is it really worth it to buy a FX60 instead of the 4800+? I mean they both have the Toledo core, the FX60 is just clocked a little bit faster, but therfore a lot more expensive.

2. Is it worth it to wait for the new AMD or Intel Conroe? I mean past CPU's have shown that there first versions were really buggy, like the first P4's or the first AMD XP's. Rigth now those CPU's are at their peaks. If I wait and buy a new amd or the intel it probably isn't worth it in the beginning right?

3. I'm a real ego shoot harcore gamer. In the benchmarks I saw that the AMD's are way better in the games is that true?

greetings from Switzerland:-)


Bruce.CR is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

1. Buy the 4800+ and overclock it 200mhz to the FX-60 speeds. Same thing.

2. Its all opinion

3. YES

Welcome BTW.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Or you could overclock an Opteron 165.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

yeah you can overclock an Opteron 165 to match or above FX-60 speeds. and they are cheaper.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

i would reccomend the Opteron 165 but he doesn't seem like much of an overclocker so i would suggest the x2 4400+ because that would be child's play to overclock to 4800+/FX-60 speeds. yes AMD is a lot better than current Intel's for gaming. i would not wait for technology unless it is a complete revolution like say when they introduced dual cores, AM2 is just a socket change. it could perhaps be worth waiting for Conroe but it is a long wait. in my opinion it is never worth waiting for technology, just go with the best that is available.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495

I'd seriously reccomend waiting if you don't need the rig now.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 08:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

yeah i might be building a rig that supports conroe cause i cant wait any longer, if i could wait longer i would.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 09:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

i think buliding a system so it can support a conroe in the future is a waste of time after you see what AMD will do to woop intels *** again. just because it hasnt been announced that AMD will come up with something knew, doesnt mean its not going to. I think that the AMD will kick the living s*** out of Intels attempt at a good cpu.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

Yeah but doing an average 20% better than their best CPU is gonna be tough to beat.

unless AMD have done really good keeping a new thing hidden with no knowledge of it what so ever.

but it's really hard to keep things a secret now a days.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 09:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

why, its not like intel had trouble keeping it a secret, CAUSE THEY NEVER TRIED. dont they announce it themselves? so if AMD wants to kick deys ***, dey wait until Intel releases with no knowledge of their better CPU. Do you actually believe Intel will last long? Come on after all this time AMD has proven they are way better than Intel, and just because Intel announces a new CPU, "yeah its g2 be better than AMD, cause its new". Im sure u no better than that. AMD will not go down without a fight, and if AMD does retaliate, i dont think it will be much of a fight.


john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.