new computer for statistical work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2008, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default new computer for statistical work

I need to build a high end machine, budget of around $1400, has to stay in a bedroom so needs to be quiet (case fans, case, heatsink quiet)

so far i think 2x500GB HDD's about $200
and a Core 2 Duo E8400 Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
$250

I dont know about the rest, including Motherboard. I dont know about the new versions of BIOS, chipset, etc.

Also the graphics card; Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N861-AR GeForce 9600GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail $170

I guess that is under my budget though.... Please any suggestions and comments would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

if your going to be doing statistical work, get a quad, most workstation applications support quads and thus you'll get a lot more accomplished faster
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

so a Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Q6600 Core 2 quad would be better than a E8400?
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

Yes, a Q6600 would suffice better than an E8400 for what you want to do.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

Ah, thank you

but what about the rest? i do not know what kind of motherboard to get at all, and what heat sink I should get (i had a gigabyte mobo, and its horribly loud since the stupid fan control doesn't work at all! (constant 2500rpm)
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

Motherboard... you could go with this: Newegg.com - ABIT IP35-E LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

If that board doesn't tick your fancy, per se, then here's a list of other recommended boards (among many other parts): Recommended PC Components

and, as for the heatsink... go with a TRUE Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme CPU Cooler for AMD AM2, Intel LGA775 (Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme). IT doesn't include a fan, but this one is recommended to go along with it: Scythe SY-1225SL12M SlipStream 120mm Fan 1200RPM 69CFM 24dBA
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Motherboard... you could go with this: Newegg.com - ABIT IP35-E LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

If that board doesn't tick your fancy, per se, then here's a list of other recommended boards (among many other parts): Recommended PC Components

and, as for the heatsink... go with a TRUE Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme CPU Cooler for AMD AM2, Intel LGA775 (Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme). IT doesn't include a fan, but this one is recommended to go along with it: Scythe SY-1225SL12M SlipStream 120mm Fan 1200RPM 69CFM 24dBA
good carnage, you covered everything I normally critique in builds, and that Scythe S-Flex fan has been known to be powerful and quiet, even though its $15
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

Heh, guess that means I'm finally learning, eh?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Cool Re: new computer for statistical work

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
if your going to be doing statistical work, get a quad, most workstation applications support quads and thus you'll get a lot more accomplished faster
If you need more than a Q6600 you better be looking into buy a mainframe server for your bedroom and then you'll be forced to sleep on the roof! (just joking, said for emphasis to make a point). I was using hard core med stat number crunching on a PI with 64mb of ram and didn't have a problem. Any quad that runs on vista with 8 gigs of ddr2 6400 would run about anything you want except hardcore cad and monster video/audio engineering and editing. Any modern stat program should run on a $1000 system with ease and you sure as heck don't need anything but on-board video. I'm confused......
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: new computer for statistical work

you could probably buy a xeon proc if you really wanted to go gung-ho on this setup. There are probably good proc/mobo setups and such that could fit with some overhead in your budget.

Also i wouldn't recommend a TRUE only because it's large and from waht i've heard a little awkward to install, and he doesn't really need really cool temps. I would say, if there are any decent ones, go passive cooling on it, and just have sleevless fans and no led's and you could leave it on 24/7 provided you can keep temps in check and it's completely silent. Thats what i did when i was rendering things and i had a slow proc so i had to leave it on for extended periods of time and it worked wonders.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.