New computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default New computer

Im selling the old one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MESE%3AIT&rd=1

Well, I came up with these specs:

LITE-ON Black IDE Combo Drive Model SOHC-5236V BK RTL - Retail

ASPIRE X-CRUISE -BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

NEC Beige 1.44MB 3.5" Floppy Drive - OEM

Western Digital Caviar SE WD2000JS 200GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

ASPIRE ATX-CW500WP4 ATX 500W Power Supply - Retail

Rosewill RFA120L-R 120mm Sleeve 4 Red LEDs LED Light Case Cooling Fan - Retail

gigaram 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered DUAL CHANNEL System Memory Model GR1DD8T-K2GB/400/2.5 - Retail

Microsoft Windows XP Home With SP2 - OEM

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA4400CDBOX - Retail

eVGA 256-P2-N516 Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

TOTAL: $1407 (including shipping)


Is this EVERYTHING I will need? any compatibility issues? Anything I should know?

Thanks!!!
__________________

wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

i wouldn't bye a case and the PSU together. get them seperate. stick with: OCZ, Antec, PC Power and Cooling.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default

huh?
Im getting an ASPIRE PSU seperate... has good reviews...
wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default

simeone?
wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wildwobby
huh?
Im getting an ASPIRE PSU seperate... has good reviews...
yes, but bad reviews often get deleted.
personally I don't trust Aspire PSU's

I agree with GuitarFreak1857 on PSU brands
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default

Are you sure? Because I see a lot of bad reviews on new egg. I think i need 500W for this system. What problems COULD it cause?
wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

A bad PSU could cause system instability, problems with overclocking, and it could literally damage all your components when it shorts out - im using when because with bad PSUs, its literally a matter of time. Id say get an OCZ PowerStream 520 watt PSU. Its excellent, it will server you very well
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default

Thats really expensive?!?!?!

Anything... cheaper? I will do NO overclocking...
wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default

how about downgrading to this case? I need to cut down on price, espicially if im gonna need a psu thats costs mroe than 60 bucks
http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...82E16811156018
wildwobby is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Also, newegg doesn't list the PSU you picked out as having a PCI-E line to your graphics card. The Antec TruePower, does. Its pretty spiffy.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.