New computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2007, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default New computer

A guy I know wanted to buy a computer from alienware but I told him it would be better to build a computer himself. He didn't know what parts to get ect.. So this is what I picked out for him. Please let me know what you think.

CPU- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600
Motherboard- GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
RAM-CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4 - Retail
Video Card- EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
Power Supply- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 EPS12V EPS12V 610W Continuous @ 40°C Power Supply - Retail
Case- AeroCool AeroEngineII-SSP Silver 0.65mm SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Hard Drive- Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Optical Drive- 2x LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model LH-20A1S - Retail
Monitor- Hanns·G JW-199DPB Black 19" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail
Operating System- Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition with SP2 - Retail
Keyboard- Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Retail
Mouse- Logitech G5 2-Tone 6 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Wired Laser Mouse - Retail
Speakers- Logitech Z-2300 200 watts RMS 2.1 Speaker System - Retail
Headset- PLANTRONICS GAMECOMPRO1 USB Connector Supra-aural Gaming Stereo Headset - Retail
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: New computer

Well from what it looks like, your going for the best.
How much are these items?
More specifically:
the monitor.
Get a soundcard the XFI extreme is good.
Or you can:
Get the barrucada soundcard, and headset. The headset is one of the best for gaming.
Get a lightscribe Drive. Those are sweet.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New computer

I would suggest the G. Skill HZs, over the XMS2s:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Other than that, everything else looks good.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: New computer

are those better than the dominators?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New computer

They're better for the money. The dominators are unnecessary, when you can get 2gb kits that can overclock, like the HZs, for much cheaper.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: New computer

Thanks guys.

Hes ganna get the sound card but hes not ganna change the memory. He is never going to OC is memory and probably not anything else so I think the corsair would be just fine.
Spartan III is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New computer

if he is not going to overclock that is probably thw worst use of money on a computer I have heard in a long time.

That's like me paying 300 bucks for a 1KW PSU right now while have a single 8800GTS....

You can't convince him that he will see hardly any performance increase it all by spending money on ram like that? Even when your overclocking that's a stupid idea let alone staying at stock....sigh oh well his money.

I woulld get the MX518 for a mouse as it has two side buttons compared to the G5's single one. I NEED 2 buttons for FPS games....but thats just me again.


EDIT: BTW I jsut noticed those are only the DDR2-800 version of the Dominators. only DDR2-1000 and above GUARANTEE D9 chips in them. Corsair has posted this in response to a few newegg comments a few time complaining that they payed that much and it wasn't D9's. The G.skill HZ's however are D9's.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New computer

I agree with Sora. With the parts in that list, that system is pretty much made for overclocking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New computer

exactly...if he is NEVER going to overclock which is kind of stupid there are better parts out there.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: New computer

Well, I am going to try to convince him to overclock but atm he is still trying to figure out what everything is.
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.