New computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 07:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default New computer

Lately I got to thingking and I decided It was time for a new computer, so I went to newegg.com and found the basic parts that I need. So could someone tell me if this is a good combination. ( 1 ) An ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard, (2) Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-B Blue Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case, (3) Western Digital Caviar SE WD1200JS 120GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive , (4) Patriot eXtreme Performance 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) System Memory, (5) Sunbeam NUUO SUNNU550-US-BK ATX12V/ EPS12V 550W Power Supply 100-120V CE, UL (CUL), TUV, CB, FCC, FIMKO, SEMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO , (6) AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Windsor 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Dual Core Processor, (7) BFG Tech BFGR76256GTOCE Geforce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

and since I only have a $850 budget that seems about right to, but if you have any suggestions feel free to tell me.
__________________

__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

is that power supply hav a 24 pin socket to plug to the mobo?

sorry dont hav time to check out all the parts on the web but so far so good!
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

yeh its got a 24 pin socket.
__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yeah sounds good to me the wd caviar 160 is like 10 dollars more than that 120 check it out !
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

might wanna look into getting an e6300 conroe. Almost exact same price as the 4200, and outperforms it in most situations. And they overclock like crazy.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

The e6300 spanks the 4200 upside the head with a broken paddle underwater in ALL situations.
Spartan is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Thanks guys, I guess I will go with a e6300, an ASUS P5ND2-SLI Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI Intel Edition ATX Intel Motherboard, G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) System Memory , and a Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
__________________

__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.