New Compuer Help :[ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2006, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to jesseisasith
Default New Compuer Help :[

i made a list of parts on newegg for a new computer i want, only problem is i'm not 100% on all the parts fitting/working with each other. I need some help please :[

heres what i got so far with a close price range of the item...

PROCESSOR: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
$355

VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon X1900XTX
$600

MOTHERBOARD: SAPPHIRE PURE Innovation PI-A9RX480 ATX AMD Motherboard
$160

RAM: Kingston ValueRAM 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory
$155

MEDIA DRIVE: ASUS Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW DVD-ROM 16X,
DVD-RAM 2X DVD-ROM 40X CD-R 32X CD-RW 40X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE 16X DVD¬ĪR DVD
Burner With 2X DVD-RAM Read - OEM
$38

CASE: ASPIRE X-CRUISE -BK Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window
$70

POWER SUPPLY: RAIDMAX AURORA RX-580F ATX 580Watts Power Supply
$100-150

SOUND CARD: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card
$123

HARD DRIVE: Western Digital Raptor 74GB 3.5" Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
$160

and what i'm planning on doin is just switching over my current harddrive now with xp and putting it in the new computer.
__________________

jesseisasith is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I'll tell you right off the bat that without a fresh reformat and reinstall of Windows, your old drive won't work in your new PC.

Some other things:
*Do you really need a sound card? 90% of people find that onboard works just fine.
*About that motherboard: don't. The chipset is not that great and I'm not a Sapphire fan. You could do much better with the DFI Lanparty family of boards in the same price range which use the nForce4 chipset (highly superior to the ATI chipsets), is incredibly overclockable, and is very stable.
*Raidmax DOES NOT make good PSUs. You'd be better off with Antec, PCP&C or Fortron.
*On the RAM: will you be overclocking? If so, you'd be better off with the highend OCZ RAM. If not, you'd probably be better off with Corsair Value---very good stuff.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I don't believe in my mind you need a xi-fi just get a lower type of sounblaster but don't go onboard, I have onboard and let me tell you even if you don't have a picky ear it will get on your nerves, when you are shooting in a game it is all static.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to jesseisasith
Default

ok well basically I just need a badass gamer computer which will last me for a good while in the 1500-1700$ range. HELP ME ;[ pick me out a good setup please
jesseisasith is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well do you think you can wait like half a year to get this computer or do you need it like right now?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

dont you need a crossfire mobo for a X1900XTX?
Keadonen is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no, only if you want to use crossfire
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
I don't believe in my mind you need a xi-fi just get a lower type of sounblaster but don't go onboard, I have onboard and let me tell you even if you don't have a picky ear it will get on your nerves, when you are shooting in a game it is all static.
Thats sort of a generalization. My onboard sound has SPDIF Digital outputs and is awesome. Much better than than a $50 sound blaster I had before.
__________________

BillGates is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.