new comp but a few questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Question new comp but a few questions

Here's my computer, its just the case, mobo, mem, cpu, and hdd
everything else such as screen and wireless mouse and keyboard im getting later
and i hav a dvd-rom cd-rw and a cd-rw, dvd-rw+rw
Please tell me what you think and if the mem fits and what i need in terms of power source, 350? 400? 500?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131028 mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115004 cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&PageStyle=%40 case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145566 mem
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136009 hdd

also i want a graphics card can anyone tell me about the difference between the pci and agp and if the pny and ati are good brands, i dont do much gaming so i dont need that great of one but i want to run suse xgl (with all the graphics enhancements) what price rang will i be lookin at
also i want a 100 altec lansing speacker system but if its just the one plug do i need another sound card, like does that enhance the sound
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

any help with this comp??
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

ok... dont get agp, its going away (pci express is faster)

sound cards....
i wouldnt get an expensive soundcard, i have an xfi.
IMO if you dont really listen to music like crazy, or play bf2 a bunch... dont get a real expensive sound card. A sound blaster live! will be fine (yes a sound card does make music sound better)
Look at my stats, i have "one plug" and i have an xfi, just depends whether you really wanna invest in one

graphics cards....
like i said dont get agp and pretty much all brands that have alot of ratings on newegg.com are good brands (try to get atleast 256 onboard ram on your graphics card)

Central Processing Units...
The cpu u selected is OK.. i would get one with more cache, but tahts just me. I would also get a real good heatsink/fan at least $50+ so that way you can Overclock that baby pretty high

Motherboard...
Wow, are you really willing to get that mobo, im impressed
Do you really need all that good of a mobo, it wont really increase performance, just connectivity

Harddrive...
Your harddrive will work with that mobo, and its pretty nice

Powersupply...
Considering all this stuff your getting i would get 500watts
But also take into consideration that getting a good brand increases your chances of it being more dependable
NEVER GO FOR CHEAP POWERSUPPLYS!!!

Ram...
Your ram fits, and it pwns, enjoy it
(btw, you really dont need 2gb)

In general...
Your system looks awesome
on a scale of 1-10 i would give it a 8
As far as getting a gpu, thats the most important thing in your computer besides the ram, if you are getting all this other stuff, make sure to make your gpu one of the best
alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

thats for the help, any processors you suggest, and im not gonna overclock do i still need a heatsink/fan, and im getting two of those hdds do i but two sata cables or can io but one with two connecctors, i also have some things here i want to add like a xip drive, do the sata mobos hav stuff for like a zip and internal 7 -in- 1 card reader, also i have a hdd now with all my mem, i was just gonna make an enclosure and go through usb, will that work?
do i need any other cables besides sata? (i have tons of ata hdd cables)
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

That's a chunk of change to drop on a top-end performance board if you're not going to overclock. You may want to look into this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131032

If you're not overclocking, you can go with the stock cooler. The processor you picked is fine.

A sound card is a luxury. The onboard sound will do you fine unless you get into major surround sound home theater.

As for graphics cards, don't worry about AGP. The board you picked and the board I recommended neither have AGP.

PNY is a good brand, but usually costs more for nothing extra. For nVidia, eVGA is highly recommended around here, as is BFG. For ATI, I dunno.

The board you picked has one PATA connector, so it can handle two ATA devices. The one I recommended has two PATA connectors, so it can handle four (two on each cable).

Quote:
i have a hdd now with all my mem, i was just gonna make an enclosure and go through usb, will that work?
Yes, it will work.

Quote:
do i need any other cables besides sata? (i have tons of ata hdd cables)
Your motherboard will come with cables.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

"The board you picked has one PATA connector, so it can handle two ATA devices. The one I recommended has two PATA connectors, so it can handle four (two on each cable)."

you mean sata right, cause thats what i need, and i do think im gonna go for the nicer mobo because i want it to last and if i want to oc i want to be able to
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 03:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

No. I meant PATA/ATA. While new hard drives use SATA, optical drives (save one or two) still use PATA/ATA. Older hard drives use it as well.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.