New Comp Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tolk

Beta member
Ok where to start? Basically i'm looking to buy / possibly build a new computer. Up until now I have had very little experience with fiddleing with the hardware of my computer. I'm reasonably into gaming so i want to get something thats going to be good for that. So basically I was hoping you lot would be able to awnser (quite) a few questions about this for me. I have a fairly large budget (around £2000 mark +/- a bit, approx $4000+) and am uk based so keep in mind delivery etc.

1) Is building, or rather getting your comp to work properly after building difficult, medium, easy? And any advice on this.

2) Is this roughly correct:
current best cpu: the conroe Intel core 2 duo's
current best graphics card: GeForce GTX 7900 or the ATI (forget exact name but something like XT 1900 or something).
good mobo: for the conroe cpu: Asus p5b deluxe (the new bios, unlocks overclocking options for the lower level conroe chips)
ram to get: DDR2

3) Would i be better of getting more lower MHz ram (i.e. 533) or less higher MHz ram (i.e. 667), i don't know what the impact on performance is?

4) Is it worth considering the new Ageia physics cards or is the technology still too new to be worth it?

5) Should I wait for the new DX 10 GPU's or should i buy a cheap one now then sell and upgrade when they release, how easy is replacing the GPU?

6) If building is something i should possibly avoid, given my lack of knoledge, is a system like the dell xps 700 viable? I know alot of peopel dislike dell for various from what i can see in the specs of it, it seems ok. Conroe processors, quad sli graphics etc.
Would i be able to overclock this system if so inclined? Are there any components that are easy to replace that i should buy the basic level of, then remove, sell and replace to save money from the dell markup? etc..

7) If not dell are other companies (i.e. evesham.com) worth considering?