new card but i got a question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default new card but i got a question

first off, got my 8800gts upgrade from 6800gs. 3dmark06 went from 2716 to 9716. is 9716 a good number for this build (not overclocked at all, completly stock) q6600, p35 ds3r, 2 gigs ballistix 800, 8800gts

also, im using dvi cables, but my refresh rate is 60hz (the highest i can get from what i see) is this right? i heard higher is better and i think my friend has 75hz

thanks soo much, tainted
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new card but i got a question

What monitor are you using?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: new card but i got a question

samsung 226bw
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new card but i got a question

For that monitor: @ max res, the best refresh is 60hz.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: new card but i got a question

alright. well css is still lagging (graphics wise) which is one reason i got the 8800gts. Its a graphical slowdown when turning fast and such, anyone have any clues?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new card but i got a question

What FPS are you getting?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: new card but i got a question

how can i know?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new card but i got a question

Enable console in options. Press "~" during gameplay, and type in cl_showfps 1
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: new card but i got a question

is 60hz the equivalent of 60fps? or like 60 refreshes per second?

isn't that the fastest the human eye can identify and actually notice the difference between?

peter, dearjesus you of all people should tell ppl to use net_graph 3

much better, displays choke, server tickrate, ping etc.
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new card but i got a question

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
is 60hz the equivalent of 60fps? or like 60 refreshes per second?

isn't that the fastest the human eye can identify and actually notice the difference between?

peter, dearjesus you of all people should tell ppl to use net_graph 3

much better, displays choke, server tickrate, ping etc.
No. The human eye can see up to 60Hz. The computer can put out 60Hz but have a higher FPS. A higher FPS is better because when you turn, you don't get tearing.


cl_showfps is more than enough. net_graph takes up too much room. Unneeded for this situation.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Question razorbubble System Upgrades 3 09-19-2007 09:24 AM
Question about OCing a Video Card mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-11-2007 02:29 AM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.