New Build works fine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2013, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default New Build works fine

After all the questions about what to build, how and so forth, thought it would be nice to post about a successful build, thanks to all your inputs.
My build
CPu: Intel I-5 3570K
MB: AsRock Extreme 4 Z77 LGA-1155
SSD: XPH SX900 256 GB
Back up drive: Seagate ST3100 1TB SATA
Graphics card: EVGA GTX670
RAM: GSkill Ares GTCSSD 8 GB (4x2)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12II, 620W Bronze
Case: Rosewill Challenger Mid Tower ATX
DVD Drive: ASUS balck SATA 24X DVD burner.
OP System: WIN 7 64Bit

Followed the links to Newegg UTube video for the build which worked great. I went from a Windows Experience of 4.9 in my old dual core comp to 7.9 in my new build. I had to laugh when I was installing MB apps ,as the install screens flashed by so fast like a blink. Boot up is like 13 secs .
All my research paid off as the Windows Experience rated my CPU at 7.8 and my ram at 7.8, but my SSD and Graphics cards at 7.9, so basically its all of equal speed, no weak bottle necks.

I was wanting a quiet build, for the case no unnecessary lights and stuff like my first build. I would have bought an Antec case like my old comps Antec P180, which is all insulated and all fans and drives isolated with cushioned mounts. But they are expensive, so this Rosewill case works fine. I used silicone fan mounts and gaskets to isolate the fans. Over all its very quiet , I can barely hear the fans running.
So that's my build, and thanks again for all your help, Carnage, and PPMguire. And everyone else that makes this site so great!!
__________________

Runfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New Build works fine

Good to hear you had a successful build. Just a little FYI, Windows rating is ****.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: New Build works fine

nice.

take some pics so we can criticize your wiring.

trollface.jpg
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: New Build works fine

Ok windows rating is just general info. Got a question, why does windows 7 , under the "Safely remove and eject hardware media" show my SSD main drive ADAT SX900 drive? Why would windows see my SSD as something to eject??
Runfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New Build works fine

Because SSD tech is flash based and you can safely remove them if they aren't your C drive (obviously).
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: New Build works fine

You should put windows on your SSD so you get a speed boost! am I missing something? whatever drive that windows is on is drive C so that means the SSD doesnt have the OS
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New Build works fine

His C drive IS his Windows drive. Hence "main drive".
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: New Build works fine

PP Mguire, I like you , your funny, you sounds like Sherlock Holmes, on TV series, so matter of fact like everyone should know that..
OK so here are dome pictures.
Heres my new desk with all my parts"][IMG]
Heres my setup, wire loom will be next to clean up all cables. As soon as I can get my Razor Nostromos gaming keypad working, By the way, anyone else use one, or have any experience with Razoe products, I'm not real thrilled with their support so far. I customized the desk , made a place to mount my power strip up under the back, and a shell to get my base, the white box , up off the floor.

Heres the build, its hard to see, but the case sits on a floor stand off the floor for good air flow, it has plenty of room for good air flow too.



I ran all the cables behind the back out, I think its pretty clean, could be a little cleaner but still open for good air flow.
Runfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New Build works fine

Glad everything is working for you; always good to see builds come together.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New Build works fine

You need to move your GPU to the top 16x slot.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.