New build won't turn on - any ideas why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2008, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

Just put my new build together and disappointingly (although not completely unexpectedly, as this is my first) it wont switch on. When I press the power the front light flickers momentarily then nothing.

This is what I'm using:

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium x64Bit OEM 1PK DVD (obviously not installed yet)

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Energy Efficient 95W edition Socket 775 (2.40GHz) G0 Stepping L2 8MB Cache OEM Processor

Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB Cache - OEM

MSI P35 Neo-F Socket 775 FSB1333 onboard 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard

Arctic Power 500W PSU With PCI-E SATA, 20+4 ATX12V 8pin +12V Connectors

Kingston 2GB DDR2 Memory (X2, for 4gb RAM)

LG GSA-H66NBAL 18X SATA DVD±RW/DL/RAM - Black Bare Drive OEM

akasa cooler for Intel p4 socket LGA 775

My only idea is that the RAM is causing a problem, as I'm using 533MHz but I noticed (after purchasing everything) that the motherboard only supports 1066(OC)/800/667MHz memory )see here). Would this be a critical problem, and could it be causing the build to not power up?

I've attached a photo of the build below, in the slim chance that it'd help anyone see the problem (note I haven't got the RAM inserted here, but I have tested when it was).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg build.jpg (68.1 KB, 151 views)
__________________

ChromeShark is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

video card or onboard gpu?
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

the motherboard has onboard vga
ChromeShark is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

Quote:
My only idea is that the RAM is causing a problem, as I'm using 533MHz but I noticed (after purchasing everything) that the motherboard only supports 1066(OC)/800/667MHz memory
I think it can cause instability

Try a spare psu if u can
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

Thanks for the advice, I've purchased the new RAM, even if that wasn't the problem I figure I'll get better performance with 800mhz.

If that doesn't work I'll see about trying a spare psu etc and post back if I still have no luck.
ChromeShark is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

you prolly already did this but just makin sure, is the switch on the back of the power supply switched to on?
stalin90 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

Well, nothing started smoking or smelt like smoke right? I blew hard drive. However when I unplugged my hard drive it powered on. Try unplugging a few things and turning it in. You don't need the CD/DVD, SD Slots, Hard Drive and other things to power on the mobo. Are you sure you plugged everything into the motherboard? Did you do it all correct? I'm not sure whether or not it'll turn on if there's ram in it so try to stick in an old stick for testing and see what happens. (Remember this is just getting the machine on, nothing near functioning) If you get it to turn on look back a step and you found your problem. That's what I do anyways!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

1: make sure your motherboard is mounted correctly
2: make sure your cpu is mounte correctly
3: make sure the psu to mobo connectors are attached correctly and completely

edit: as for ram, it shouldn't matter the speed of the ram, only that it be ddr2 and pc2...though not 100% sure.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 03:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

I had a similar problem when I swapped my motherboard yesterday.

instead of using the full 8-pin ATX power connected I used the 4 pin, because I didn't feel like fighting to remove the plug.

PC wouldn't turn on, so I put the 8 pin in instead and it worked fine. If the CPU isn't getting enough power I guess it wont turn on. Or so the manual said ^^
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New build won't turn on - any ideas why?

Thanks for all the suggestions, but afraid I'm still haven't had any luck. Tried using a different PSU but there was no difference.

I also upgraded the ram to 800mhz to comply with the motherboard spec, but this didn't fix the problem (probably still worth me doing though).

Just to clarify, when the power switch is pressed the front LED flashes and the front fan usually rotates briefly. This suggests that power is running through but not powering up the motherboard.

The psu is connected correctly to the motherboard through both the 2x2 12V Power Connector and the 2x12 Main Power Connector.

I've scanned in a page from the motherboard manual if this helps at all. If anybody think any other pages would help them see the problem I'll scan those in too.

__________________

ChromeShark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build For friend... Need Ideas Black Falcon 921 System Upgrades 5 12-23-2007 11:59 PM
Wanting to build new machine but have no ideas Cozza New Systems | Building and Buying 11 11-29-2007 05:24 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
new build wont turn off chris187 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-30-2007 08:39 PM
new build, random turn offs harnar123 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 10:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.