new build won't power up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2007, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default new build won't power up

Just hooked everything up for my new computer and it will not power on. There is a light on on the PSU switch so I'm assuming the PSU is good.... Everything is hooked up right, switch some jumpers around just to be sure.... here's the specs:

Biostar GeForce6100
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Fortron 400W PSU
80GIG IDE HDD
40GIG IDE HDD
Lite-On DVD Burner

Also... the area on the mobo where you plug in the 24pin power connector into (capacitors and the area around them) is hot to the touch...
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Check the 4 pin connector that goes to the motherboard. Also check the PSU and make sure the little tab, is on 115.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 06:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default

both of those are ok.... looks like this mobo is taking a trip back to newegg.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

are you 100% sure that the little connector is on the right pins on the mobo?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default

I had this same prob around chirstmas, i had to RMA my motherboard which took about 7 days.. Was worth the wait.
__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
are you 100% sure that the little connector is on the right pins on the mobo?
yea, i switched it around a few times just to be 100% sure. i just mailed the mobo back, so should get a new one next week.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

All you had to do was reset the cmos...
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default

why would you have to do that on a brand new board? i've never had to do it before, but this is the first biostar board i've had.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 07:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

forget that, i wouldn't ever reset cmos on a new mobo, i would wait 3 years b4 doing that lol, but u could have saved on the shipping and handeling
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.