New Build...stick with core duo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default New Build...stick with core duo?

Here it is, its a smaller case which is why ive considered the core duo. Check it out:

t2400 Cpu Core duo

Asus N4L-VM DH (comes with a HS and fan)

Aspire Q-Pack Case

WD Raptor 36gb SATA

Maxtor 200gb (already have) SATA

SB Audigy 2ZS (already have)

g80 (when its out...add it later... mobo has integrated)

2gb G.skill ddr2 667

OCZ Modstream 520w

Pioneer DVR-111D Black 16x DVD¬ĪWriter

Any suggested changes before i pick it up? Considering the case im getting...would conroe be worth the wait? Or maybe go with AM2 x2 3800+.... where i am the amd2 x2 3800 costs the same as the t2400.

Anyway all suggestions appreciated!

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would get the new updated 74GB raptor. The 36GB isn't very fast compared the best 7200RPM.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

yeha your probably right, what about the core duo vs. conroe ... i was thinking of just getting a laptop instead...

how is this for gaming:

http://anitec.ca/product/6276/asus_a...3ghz_notebook/
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Conroe will be faster but not a lot faster.

I would get a 7200RPM drive like the hitachi 7K100 (laptop).
turtile is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

I would look into one of the new "perpendicular" technology hdd's. I saw some benchmarks on one of them and the only hdd that beat it was a raptor, and only by small amount.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

so your saying core duo is fine, and that laptop should be good but replace the hdd?

Will that laptop be able to handle new games for the next year?
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

nah don't replace the hdd. its fine. yea that labtop will be fine on newer games. also later you can add a stick of ram to it. really easy to do
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

The Merom series core Duos will be out this summer. (Laptop Conroe, basically.) Probably worth the wait.
Orayn is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

well im probably not going to wait... so should i go desktop or laptop??

Also are there any dell laptops worth checking out? i can usually get a deal from dell as my company orders alot of stuff from them.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would stick with a desktop if your mainly into gaming its much cheaper and the graphics are much more powerful.

Most companies, like dell, underclock the graphics to get the battery to last longer.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.