New Build. Seriously beir Bones. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2012, 02:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,088
Question New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

Last night, as its now 06.55AM here in the UK, av striped an old desktop, down to the beir bones. Mobo, CPU, PSU, Heatsink and Memory. And I've got the Feeling again for a New Build. I mean beir bones.. This is what I'm thinking.

Motherboard, PSU, Memory, CPU, and Heat Sink and Fan.

Now im happy to bye a USB Mem Stick for the Pourpos of storage and run the System as it stand with an Ethernet Connection. But what about an OS. Am not sure weather to go for a Full paid for System or use something like Linux.

I seriously need Advice on whats the best for a mid range beir bones system. Forget the chassis, I'll quite happy have it running on the Desk of me own accord for the time being and hard drive.

I dont have a buget at the minute but need to know whats the best options and whats available.. Put it this way the Last system I had was an 8800GT with a Quad Core.. At the Time when I built that, it blew my Mind from jumping from a 2800+ Sempron, and that was 2+ years ago. Hopefully this will be next week when I bye the Parts for the Build.

If you can Post a Recomendation, can you give a comparison on the 8800GT and Quad core Intel Q6600 I had at the Time.

Thank you.
__________________

Spud1200 is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

If this build is for gaming, then I would say that Linux is out of the question. Some can get games to run in Wine, but not all games will work.
Here is that I would get to have a relatively large jump in terms of performance.

Processor - i5 2500k £167
Intel CPU Core i5 Unlocked 2500K Sandy Bridge Quad Core Processor - BX80623I52500K - Scan.co.uk

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 - £107
Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 Generation 3 Motherboard - GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 v1.3 - Scan.co.uk

Power Supply - Corsair Enthusiast TX V2 650W £72
Corsair Enthusiast TX V2 CMPSU-650TXV2UK 650W Power Supply (PSU) - Scan.co.uk

Memory - Corsair Vengeance LP £22
Corsair Memory Vengeance LP Blue 4GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop Sandybridge - CML4GX3M2A1600C9B - Scan.co.uk

Total: £370

If this build is for gaming, I would upgrade the video card as well. Also, the motherboard may not fit in your case as it's full ATX. If you decide that you want to put it in your old case, make sure that it will fit via measuring (30.5cm x 22.5cm). Also make sure that you have motherboard standoffs in the dimension mentioned above.
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhOsT1321 View Post
If this build is for gaming, then I would say that Linux is out of the question. Some can get games to run in Wine, but not all games will work.
Here is that I would get to have a relatively large jump in terms of performance.

Processor - i5 2500k £167
Intel CPU Core i5 Unlocked 2500K Sandy Bridge Quad Core Processor - BX80623I52500K - Scan.co.uk

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 - £107
Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 Generation 3 Motherboard - GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 v1.3 - Scan.co.uk

Power Supply - Corsair Enthusiast TX V2 650W £72
Corsair Enthusiast TX V2 CMPSU-650TXV2UK 650W Power Supply (PSU) - Scan.co.uk

Memory - Corsair Vengeance LP £22
Corsair Memory Vengeance LP Blue 4GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop Sandybridge - CML4GX3M2A1600C9B - Scan.co.uk

Total: £370

If this build is for gaming, I would upgrade the video card as well. Also, the motherboard may not fit in your case as it's full ATX. If you decide that you want to put it in your old case, make sure that it will fit via measuring (30.5cm x 22.5cm). Also make sure that you have motherboard standoffs in the dimension mentioned above.
All good, but stay away from Gigabyte. I can't stress that enough.. Even if that board doesn't have any known problems, Gigabytes RMA is pretty much non existent.

Edit:

Also, why only 4gb RAM when you can get 8gb for not much more?
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
All good, but stay away from Gigabyte. I can't stress that enough.. Even if that board doesn't have any known problems, Gigabytes RMA is pretty much non existent.

Edit:

Also, why only 4gb RAM when you can get 8gb for not much more?
I don't see any problems with using a Gigabyte motherboard. Is a known issue with their Z68 boards?
I used 4GB because I was trying to keep it cheap for Spud1200. The 8GB has a better price per GB. If he can afford 8GB, that would be the better buy.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 03:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhOsT1321 View Post
I don't see any problems with using a Gigabyte motherboard. Is a known issue with their Z68 boards?
I used 4GB because I was trying to keep it cheap for Spud1200. The 8GB has a better price per GB. If he can afford 8GB, that would be the better buy.
Like I said, even if there isn't a known issue with that board, if something goes wrong with it, and you need Gigabytes support/RMA department, you're SOL.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: New Build. Seriously beir Bones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
Like I said, even if there isn't a known issue with that board, if something goes wrong with it, and you need Gigabytes support/RMA department, you're SOL.
I see what you mean now. I was thinking that you meant Gigabytes RMA rates, not the RMA department itself.
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Story about breaking my hand in a fight. Ever broken any bones? TheOtis Off Topic Discussion 98 05-06-2008 02:13 AM
bare, bare bones build...feedback jfenwick System Upgrades 9 12-19-2007 12:52 AM
Cheap fx60 bear bones kit spartan1121 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 13 02-03-2007 07:31 PM
bare bones Nukem System Upgrades 4 07-09-2006 01:50 AM
About bare bones systems... Blackecho Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 12-09-2003 09:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.