New build question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2008, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default New build question..

Antec 1200
Antec 850w
EVGA X58
i7 920
3 x 2gig DDR3 1600
2 x gtx 260 core 216
2 x 640gig RAID 1
SB x-fi
HP DVD
Vista 64


Do I need to change anything?
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 03:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: New build question

The only thing you need is a CPU cooler, stock coolers are disgusting and you wouldn't want it being seen from the outside of your Antec 1200. How much are you paying for this system?
__________________

QUACK is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 03:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: New build question

Looks good, get the G.Skill PI Blacks for your ram. Also, I would change from that Antec PSU to this Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling S75QB 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI NVIDIA SLI Certified (Dual 8800 GTX and below) CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Get an aftermarket cpu hsf too. One of the best ones out right now is this Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme-1366 RT CPU Heatsink (Socket LGA 1336) - FrozenCPU.com
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: New build question

Thanks.

I think that cooler will work.
That PSU looks good too.
I did get the ram, it's corsair.

Too much. Second video card
will have to wait a little while.
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: New build question

ya the price can sneak up on you pretty fast. You still have an awesome build though. You will enjoy it
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: New build question

Thanks. Yep.

Everyone has that G.Skill memory.
Tell me the corsair will be ok!

I am starting to put this together.
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I haven't been nervous with
a build since my first build.
But this is a little bit.
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build question

Im jaded when it comes to Gskill. Its given me a lot of blue screens over the years...
asusfreak44 is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: New build question

The corsairs are fine, don't worry. I've just heard alot of people say that in general, corsair doesn't overclock very well and I think they don't use the high end chips but its not a huge deal unless you are looking to overclock alot. I just swear by G.Skill because my old HZ's overclocked like a beast with ease and my new ones are awesome too, except I wish I had waited just another week until they released those PI Blacks.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 12:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA | US
Posts: 161
Default Re: New build question

That build is... monstrous.

I was looking at the x58 motherboards a little bit; I'm getting an i7 build as well, soon. I think the EVGA will be a nice mobo, but you may want to take a look at the Gigabyte UD5 x58.

It seems to have all the pros of the EVGA (XFire and SLI), except it also has a nicer PCI Express 2.0 config., which is where your lovely Core 216's will go. The UD-5 has a 16x/16x/8x setup, while the EVGA only has a 16x/8x. So, the UD-5 would give you more room for more cards, but more importantly, better bandwidth so as to take full advantage of them (and not bottleneck them).

The Gig also has 12GB more maximum memory.

Choice is yours though, EVGA is a great company to buy from from what I hear, and its board might also have more USB ports and such.

EDIT: Ok, all of that might have been useless... I think I misread the stuff on newegg, EVGA can also go 16x/16x/8x, just that you can choose to let one slot have 8x bandwidth rather than 16x. Not sure why you'd want to do that, maybe power consumption? Sorry if I confused/angered anybody with that crap.
Mikepsyche is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 02:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: New build question

Thank you for your replies.

It's up right now! I really like it.

I locked it up once with their oc
tool so I am stuck initializing raid.
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Build Component Question Badgerme New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-19-2008 10:18 PM
Another Build Question Gus the Bus System Upgrades 8 01-26-2008 09:32 PM
undefined's RANDOM Question Thread... First Build undefined System Upgrades 5 12-25-2007 07:12 PM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
Question about RAM for new build. werejago New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-30-2007 09:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.