New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2008, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

Hey guys, considering building a new gaming desktop,and i am just wondering, should i use a quad core or a dual core for gaming? i am gonna be playing games where i cant have lag. lol my laptop only has a 2.0ghz dual core, and it lags during the game. so i was thinkning getting something with a high core clock, but if i have more cores, does it kinda cancel that out? i remember having a 2.4ghz quad by intel, and it didnt work to well for some of my games, and alot of ppl said most games dont support quad-cores anyways. well if i could have some opinions, ideas, thoughts? that would be grt
__________________

robdarftw is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

Right now dual cores tend to perform better at games. That said the biggest influence on gaming performance is the graphics card, not cpu.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

o ok, so i should save my money and go wit the dual core? cuz then i can prob get a better graphics card. thinking about the GTX 260 for graphics
robdarftw is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

How about the HD 4870 instead?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

is it better? and also what do u guys think about memory? i kinda want 6-8gb, and prob pc6400 ddr2. got any suggestions for some fast memory? i am not that knowledgable on mem timing either :-)
robdarftw is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

pshh even anything above 4gb is really not necessary...

yes the HD 4870 is better
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

This is a good 4gb set of ram.

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

The E8500 is a great dual core.

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

I dont think the E8500 is worth extra for a .5x more multiplier.

Are you talking about the GTX 260 216?

Both perform close to each other. GTX 260 is good for folding if you do any now or in the future.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by norcrawler View Post
core 216 is beast.
oc that biotch,i run like 150-200 fps in cod4 maxed.
some areas like 250,lol
The hd4870 1GB will outperform the core 216 in most games, but not as good for folding. Just depends what you want it for. The hd4870 512mb is more comparable to the core 216 and its alot cheaper.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming?

You won't notice the FPS difference so it doesn't matter.
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Would a dual core processor be fine for my needs? Org System Upgrades 9 06-20-2008 05:03 PM
Are Quad Core or Dual core best for gaming? Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-03-2008 11:07 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.