New build, maybe... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2015, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default New build, maybe...

I'm looking for a mother board that has the Sound Blaster Cinema built in to it. Can be a gaming board if need be but will be used for a high end home theater set up.
Budget is $300.00usd max just for the board.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New build, maybe...

High end home theater? Should just use an optical out. As an X-Fi owner for the past 10 years you don't want to get into the hassle that is Creative drivers. Also, most "gamer" motherboards with Creative chips use the lower end C-Media chipset. I only know of a couple that use their Core3D chip and one of them being the Extreme11 which still goes for a pretty penny.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: New build, maybe...

Be cheaper to get a nice board then get the 3D sound card as an add on.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New build, maybe...

You don't need a sound card if your AV has optical input. In the long haul it's cheaper to get a good sound card instead of spending more money on a board you'll have to upgrade later. Long as you get a PCI-E sound card or external USB device it'll be compatible with future boards.

Edit: Another option would be straight HDMI.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: New build, maybe...

I could go the HDMI route. I'll entertain the idea. Any suggestions for a solid board?
I like things to last a while so I'm not always spending money. I drop a bundle one time and enjoy the results for years to come.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New build, maybe...

Need more information, like what's the processor going in it?

Both HDMI and optical out give a straight digital signal to the AV, usually PCM. Any form of sound chip or audio setup on a card or board isn't going to make a difference to this signal. The only thing a sound card or upgraded onboard audio is good for is upgraded DACs and amps. Sometimes software enhancements are nice but they honestly aren't ever worth the trouble. The only reason I kept my X-Fi for so long is because I spent a ton of money on it and liked the DAC for my cans. Now for simplification and less nonsense running on my machine I just use HDMI out to my TV and then audio out to my headphone amp.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 05:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: New build, maybe...

Well since a HTPC really doesn't need all that much horse power, let's go with 8 gigs of ram and a Intel i5. A 128 gig SSD. Don't need much there due to having a WD Mycloudmirror NAS box. Movies and music get streamed from there.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New build, maybe...

Well we got a couple options.

You can go with this D3 board that has HDMI out but has DDR3 support so it's cheaper on the RAM.
ASUS Z170-P D3 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com

Or you can go with this board that has optical out and HDMI out that also supports DDR4.
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com


If you wanted a smaller form factor we could do mITX as well and parts would be cheaper with a Haswell based machine.

For an SSD, if you get a board with an M.2 slot.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820147431
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 09:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: New build, maybe...

What do you think of this SSD for either primary or data storage secondary?

OCZ ARC 100 ARC100-25SAT3-480G 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - Newegg.com
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 09:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: New build, maybe...

You can get a better Samsung 850 Evo 500gig for cheaper: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-In.../dp/B00OBRE5UE
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with boot, maybe vid card maybe psu? Chrysamere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 08-28-2008 03:34 AM
Ok new build maybe..... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-05-2007 07:13 AM
Yahoo-spread virus? Maybe, maybe not. What do you think? WildRose Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 06-29-2005 07:59 PM
"Red Letter Day..." *maybe a spoiler, maybe not...* EdoKoi PC Gaming 4 01-09-2005 09:52 PM
Maybe a stupid question, Maybe not, lol A_Zip1 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-03-2003 03:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.