New build...just looking for input - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default New build...just looking for input

Im fixing to change out the main parts in my comp, cpu and mobo, but if i have to ram as well for a conroe or am2. i was looking to keep about a $500 budget, and was wondering what would be best invested for the future.

would a conroe e6300 be a better investment than a x2 4400+ sk939, would the conroe beat it, im sure it would, but i just was looking to make sure.

thanks.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

ummm i say get the am2. sure conroe is better FOR NOW, but amd has somthing cookin'. and its going to be hot AND fit in an am2 motherboard. not to mention am2 is alot cheaper because conroe motherboards go for like 200. AND an e6300 isnt even a conroe. its an allendale. so yeah **** that. get the am2 with the foxxcon motherboatd.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

You will not be able to build C2D system for about $500. Either AM2 or C2D require DDR2 RAM and it is not cheap right now. I am in the same boat, but my budget is $900. I am barely making it.
Currently mobo and RAM alone will cost this much.
suppafreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

that is true..
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

eh...i think you could make it w/ AM2 but not Conroe.
hold on i'll get you some parts...

AM2 X2 3800 $150
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735

MSI K9N Platinum $110
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130049

for RAM i'd suggest some 667 or 800mhz w/ C4L or lower.

i didn't check for compatability w/ this ram yet but if you buy two of these it's $210
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231094

You can get 2gb of C5L 800mhz RAM for about 170 but don't get it unless you don't wanna OC ever cuz it doesn't have much room to OC.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.