New build! Just a little help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 09:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Question New build! Just a little help.

Hi im working on building a new machine (gaming rig) and just wanted to know if theres a high performance mobo out there that has agp as well as pci-e. Reason being i have a 6800 gt and its pretty new for me so i want to burn this one whilst saving for an 8800.

Im going to get a e6400, 2gb of corsair ram ddr2, 320 gb sata hdd, and a mobo witch supports agp as well as pci-e and has some ide sockets as i have 3 hdd in my current machine and would like to get some use out of them.

So if anyone could stear me in the right direction they would be greatly appretiated.

And also im planning on oc,ing my e6400 so i need a mobo that has a max fsb of about 1064 (i think), and aslo max mem of about 8 gb.
__________________

hedcrusha is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

You're not gonna be able to find a motherboard with AGP and and PCI that supports conroe processors. There's only like 3 and I don't think any of them are good boards, you could just get a low level PCI E card and use that to hold you over until you get enough money for the beast. Also the only motherboard you're gonna find that supports 8GB is a server motherboard, which you're looking at about $300+ for a good one. If you're looking for a good core 2 motherboard the gigabyte DS3 seems to be the board of choice right now. You'll be able to get some really good clocks out of that CPU on just about anything you plop it in so don't worry about the board limiting it, unless you get a really crap one. Your choice of ram looks good and you really can't go wrong with a hard drive, unless you're looking for a certain amount of cache'. Every motherboard still has IDE sockets so don't worry about that either.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

agreed with /\ there are no dual slot board that support Conroe. You'd even be hard pressed to find an AGP slotted that supports Conroe. maybe you could sell your GT now and use it towards a new card?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the info guys but what about this board: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...6971&rd=1&rd=1
?? That supports agp and pci!

I have found others too and there all lga775 and support core 2!

Or what about a cheap 7900 with sli x2 until i get the beast!??

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/119500
hedcrusha is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

I would not get that board that you found on ebay. The ad says it only supports DDR memory not DDR2. While DDR memory is ok, it is quickly becoming obsolete. This will severely limit your upgrade capabilities and your speed capabilities.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

for ide purposes go with msi 975x its one of the only boards i can find that have more then one ide slot and more then one pci slot
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 09:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the reply guys. Ive found this little bundle and think i will go for it with x2 7900 gt's. Let me know what you think.

http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=314132
hedcrusha is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Seems good to me, I don't know what the exchange rate is though so I can't really tell you if it's a good deal or not.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.