New Build Isssue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2011, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Default New Build Isssue

I put together my comp today and everything works great, until I turned the comp off.
Now when I turn my comp back on it turns on for two seconds, turns off, then turns back on and boots like normal .

Its not really that annoying more as it is concerning. I really am lost at what the issue could be. Any help from some pro's would be appreciated! Thanks.

CPU- i5 2500k
MB- Asus p8p67 LE
GPU- GTX 560 ti
PSU- Thermaltake 750
__________________

Caution is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16
Default Re: New Build Isssue

when building the computer did you make sure that the thermal paste was spread smoothly across the whole CPU?
also try restarting your BIOS?
__________________

foREVer616uk is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: New Build Isssue

Seems to be a fairly common problem with the P8P67 line, found a few forum posts about it.
Some fixes that seem to have worked are flashing BIOS, powering on by PCIe function, and/or disabling PLL over-voltage.

Check out these threads:
ASUS P8P67 series Double POST at Cold Boot Fix
ASUS P8P67 series Double POST at Cold Boot Fix - [H]ard|Forum
[Solved] P8P67 Double posting/ booting - General-Motherboard - Motherboards-Memory
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: New Build Isssue

It was the stock thermal paste for my set up. It's a weird issue. Should I be alarmed? Or will it not hurt my system to have that happen?
Caution is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: New Build Isssue

My computer does this when I change a BIOS setting and restart; it turns on, then off for a couple seconds, then back on. Sounds like your BIOS is trying to set some setting that it thinks wasn't there before. I can't imagine this harming the system - but I can't see running power for a few seconds then turning it off and then back on again being good for it...I would try some of the things Roark suggested.
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: New Build Isssue

It sounds like your mobo is having problems with the memory settings. Have you manually set the Speed, Latencies and Voltage for your memory? What memory are you using?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 04:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: New Build Isssue

mines the same i have p8h67-m pro asus board and mine does it tooo . my pc boots fine .......... its just basically a quick check it does .

cpu ; I5-2500
4gb ddr3
asus p8h67-m pro
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 05:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New Build Isssue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
It sounds like your mobo is having problems with the memory settings. Have you manually set the Speed, Latencies and Voltage for your memory? What memory are you using?
I second this, try checking your memory settings because a friend who once had a dodgy p35 MSI board had two sticks of dissimilar ram. It proved extremely hard to satisfy both sets of ram which mutual settings, and he had this same problem. Extremely annoying.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: New Build Isssue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caution View Post
It was the stock thermal paste for my set up. It's a weird issue. Should I be alarmed? Or will it not hurt my system to have that happen?
What exactly do you mean by "It was the thermal paste"?
A thermal issue would typically cause your computer to throttle or shutdown during use, not double boot on start up.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP ON NEW BUILD! Sandy Bridge i7-2600k FIRST BUILD EVER!! Tips are highly appreciated! bvuong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-12-2011 07:09 PM
Need a build for a friend from the build guru's myowngod New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-29-2009 06:46 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.