new build helppp - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 08-15-2008, 09:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Default Re: new build helppp

I appreciate all your opinions but lets try to stay on track haha... by looking at the MINIMUM requirements i want to make a bulky future proof machine that can render things REAL easily n fast. My MAX im looking to spend is 2000...im just trying to get the best stuff for my buck.

i was looking at the q6600 (any opinions? any others i should be looking at?)
as for GPU i prefer ati OR Nvidia, im just trying to find out which runs better when rendering...also do you think it would be better if i connect 2 video cards (SLI/Crossfire?)

P.S. ITS NOT FOR GAMING!!!! this is for rendering purposes!!! (i am a producer)

Old 08-15-2008, 09:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!

sli/crossfire won't do you much good, and ati cards aren't even supported, so go for a quadro from nvidia.

A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Old 08-15-2008, 10:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie

is the q6600 good enough for a build like this or could i get better for that price range???

also, what about the MOBO?
Old 08-15-2008, 11:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru

Well, I'm not sure whether this program is quad threaded...

Take a look at the q6600 (2.4ghz) or if you want a fast dual core look at the e8600 (3.33ghz)