New Build...Help with mobo plz. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default New Build...Help with mobo plz.

Hi guys ok so I recently parted and sold my old gaming computer and now Im looking to put together a new one I'm gonna list the stuff I need, I already have a raptor hdd and the smaller stuff, but If you could just help me out with the motherboard selection thanks.


CPU

Video Card

PSU

Sound Card

RAM

ok so thats all the stuff Im set on buying...what do you guys think bout this mobo...

Motherboard

I'm definitly not set on it and this is my first dual core setup so I'm just lookin for some advise, thanks.
__________________

T_ray1987 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Pretty nice setup you have there. Why not go to the AM2 socket though?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Looks good to me.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

i suggest waiting and waiting...and waiting, until I get my e6600...and put together a guide. If I end up being too lazy then I'll let ya know and you can go off and buy whatever
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Pretty nice setup you have there. Why not go to the AM2 socket though?

hmmm...good point to be honest I didn't even look at the AM2 sockets cause I figured it was gonna be more than I wanted to spend but the CPU is like a dollar more haha...so could you suggest a mobo and some ddr2 ram to go with it, I'm like a year behind the times so Im jsut tryin to catch up on the new stuff
T_ray1987 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Default

we have the same sound card and same type of video card and this is the mother board I bought http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540


tom c
__________________
asus a8n sli premium
amd 64 venice 3800 2.4
xfx 6800gt
wd 80gb
2 512 cosair value ram
19in hw191d widescreen lcd
tomc102968 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tomc102968
we have the same sound card and same type of video card and this is the mother board I bought http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540


tom c
thanks, that actually looks like a nice mobo but in the specs it doesn't show if it supports Athlon 64 x2...funny cause in the picture the box says it does
__________________

T_ray1987 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.